“these afflictions eclipsed by glory…”

Thinking of the words in  a song, ” And all of a sudden, I’m unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory…” Wait a minute, I know all about the afflictions, but are they really eclipsed by glory? “ and I realize just how beautiful You are and how great Your affections are for me.  O, How He loves us so…” Lord, You mean to tell me that through these great trials, I might actually discover how beautiful You are, and that You have great affection towards even me?

Do you feel you are at your Gethsemane? That the Lord has had you drink from a bitter cup? What are we to do?  The Bible says, remind yourself of His commands, write them in your mind. Ps. 119:50 says, “This is my comfort in my affliction, Your word has given me life.”

So what word will be the comfort in our affliction? Well, Hebrews 4:15 reminds us that “we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points, tempted as we are, yet without sin.”  And vs. 16 reminds us what we must continually do: “Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

And this we will do, we will ‘come boldly to the throne of grace’ asking our Father who loves us, for mercy and an added measure of His grace. We cry, “Abba, Father!” We cry, “Rock of Ages, let me hide myself in Thee!” We cry, “Pour out Your grace to us, an added measure of grace in this time of great need.”

We acknowledge our weakness in trusting the One who is able, we acknowledge our fear – forgive us dear Lord and increase our faith that “Now may the God of hope fill us with all joy and peace in believing”…believing that You care, believing that You really see what’s going on, believing that You know we need a Savior, believing that You will deliver us, and forgive us, but sometimes even believing that You love us- Oh God, “that we might abound in hope”, which will be supernatural for our feeble minds and being, “in the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13), especially in this time of drought, in this time of night, in this time of GREAT NEED!

“Part the Red Sea Lord! Part the Red Sea!”

“Rock of Ages, cleft for me. Let me hide myself in Thee. Let the water and the blood, from Thy wounded side which flows, be of sin the double cure, save from wrath and make me pure.”  

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on ““these afflictions eclipsed by glory…””

  1. Reblogged this on Toni Rypkema and commented:

    I began writing after battling breast cancer. Well, I was always writing, but only on scrap paper here and there, and if you ask my kids, ‘everywhere!’ But my son helped me to get organized, (a bit) by getting me on this wordpress, thank you Jared) I wrote this soon during my cancer fight! The battle is raging still today…for some, a cancer fight, for others physical, emotional, and financial battles – so I share this again to remind me why I write:

Leave a Reply

