Why? all the kids! and How?!!!

For some reason, I feel lead to write more of our story today:

Just thinking back of years gone by when our family felt ‘home’ and we were all together under one roof… well, we didn’t have 11 children at once- they simply came, one at a time.

O my goodness, No words can express that first moment when our brand-new, new-born only minutes old opened his eyes and looked at me! I was so surprised. I will never forget that most special moment when it struck me, “this is a little person!” The only thing I could think of to say was, “Hi new baby!” I remember this as if it were yesterday. There are no words that can express the awe and the wonder of God and the perfect beauty of His gift. ‘Children are a gift from the Lord, and the fruit of the womb is His reward’.

So we had our Chris, so special!
Then, we had our Jared, so, so sweet! (I can’t even write of the fullness in my heart when I just type their names. God just does something in a mama’s heart.)
Then how perfect, a girl! our Carolyn! Our ‘Song of Joy!’ Two boys and a girl. We were set!  But wait a minute-

No, this is way too much- a 4th child? I was a mess, a bit depressed and quite honestly did not have a very good attitude about the 4th- UNTIL he was born! What a little sweetie! Our ‘Nicky!’ (OK, now he is Nick, but he was so cute you had to call him Nicky!) I still have memories of the kids building things and saying, “No, No Nicky!” whenever he came near as a toddler!

 

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

