How do I know that God is a personal God? Ps. 139…

So, when you look at the cover of most old Bibles, they are very plain, usually black with just two large words, HOLY BIBLE, usually all in caps. So many people think that the words inside are boring as well. Well, they just don’t know.  Yes,  there are chapters upon chapters in the Old Testament of an  intricate pattern of the Tabernacle,(or the Tent in which God would dwell with His people), describing curtains and furniture, etc., but the crazy thing is – underneath those very ugly outside coverings of the Tent, everything inside was either covered with gold or hammered with pure gold! I cannot even imagine the beauty. It must have been heavenly.

And it is interesting, but I often marvel that the bodies we live in here on earth are thought of as ‘tents’ as well. And isn’t it amazing that there is not much to our ‘tents’, but we do spend time to ‘fix it up’ quite a bit, but when God comes in and dwells in our ‘tent’, He purifies, He cleanses, He loves and fills and shines- and then our tents break and fall apart, and often at that time, the glory shines even greater!

Anyway, in that Old Book, is there ONE chapter that I can turn to that will tell me He knows my name? That He is not so busy everywhere else and He just doesn’t know what is going on with me? Today, I am thinking of that most special place, it is Ps. 139,(from the Amplified version).  It’s like opening the plain old cover and discovering gold! The word is so alive.

‘O LORD, You have searched me (thoroughly) and have known me. You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off.  {Matt. 9:4; John 2:24, 25}

You sift and search out my path and my lying down, and are acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word in my tongue (still unuttered), but lo, O Lord, You know it altogether. {Heb. 4:13}  You have beset me and shut me in behind and before, and have laid Your hand upon me. Your infinite knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high above me, I cannot reach it.

Where could I go from Your Spirit? Or where could I flee from Your presence?

If I ascend up into Heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in Sheol (the place of the dead), behold, You are there.

If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, Even there shall Your hand lead me, and Your right hand hold me.

If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the night shall be the only light about me, Even  the darkness hides nothing from You, but the night shines as the day; the darkness and the light are both alike to You. (Dan. 2:22)

For You did form my inward parts, You did knit me together in my mother’s womb. I will confess and praise You, for You are fearfully wonderful, and for the awesome wonder of my birth! Wonderful are Your works, and that my inner self knows right well…’

Song: “I have a Maker. He knows my name. Before even time began, my life was in His hands… I have a Maker. He calls me His own, He’ll never leave me, no matter where I go… He knows my name.He knows my every thought He sees each tear that falls, and hears me when I call.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

