‘stay in the present’

Yes, in having some experience in childbirth- one of the most important things to remember is ‘stay in the present!’ Don’t think about the past moments or try to figure out how much longer you have to go! Just like that special verse in Is. 26:3, “He will keep you in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on Him.”

A song comes to mind at this time:“I have a Maker, He formed my heart, before even time began, my life was in His hands. I have a Father, He calls me His own, He’ll never leave me, no matter where I go.
He knows my name. He knows my every thought. He sees each tear that falls and hears me when I call.”

So I had faith in the morning even though the trials are very heavy right now for us. But what happened through the course of the day as the clouds got darker and the winds of doubt and fear kept blowing in? My thoughts were dark and windy voices, “God is not on your side.”  “His plans for you are not good, you have no future and you have no hope.” Over and over again, thoughts of doubt and fear kept coming in.

Have you ever had that happen to you?  Well, as the winds of doubt and fear kept overwhelming me, I sent a text for prayer. What is crazy as well, is a friend that I don’t talk to regularly at all even text me and asked, “Is there anything I can pray 4u2day?”And a friend of 20 years + prayed with me, and even though I was still in a battle, I was being ‘kept’ by prayer. I’m thankful for the ‘keeping’ power of God!

Today, I have to choose: Am I going to believe God? Or am I going to let doubt and fear be my focus?  I am not going to think about that for  more than 31/2 years we have experienced  seemingly unanswered prayers- that’s thinking in the past. You see, just like Joseph sitting in that pitiful jail for two years and even Job sitting in his loss and sickness- they both had one thing going for them, God was with them!

Lord, forgive me how despairing I become at times, fill me with Your Spirit today that You would do a work of ‘total surrender’ in me. Not because everything is going well and it is easy, No, only because I asked You to help me be able to sing ‘In Truth’ that “All of You, is more than enough for me.” So not only being able to sing this Lord, PLEASE help me LIVE this today. that I may glorify You!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on “‘stay in the present’”

Leave a Reply

