‘lest I be like those who go down into the pit.’ Ever felt alone and in great agony?

Does life sometimes ever seem like one of the battle scenes in the  movie ‘The Lord of the Rings’, or a Narnia movie?

Aren’t you  glad that there is an end to  ‘the battle scene’, and  the scene changes? And the weak were made strong with their united forces against evil, and their resolve to fight to the end.

Well, I am so thankful that the Bible records Jesus’ battle at a place called Gethsemane, where His soul was exceedingly sorrowful. He asked that Peter, James, and John to stay and watch with Him while He went to pray.But they fell asleep.  Luke 22:44 records that, ‘being in agony, He prayed more earnestly. And His sweat became like great drops of blood falling down to the ground.’ And verse 43, “Then an angel appeared to Him from heaven, strengthening Him.”

Have you ever felt alone and in great agony? It’s OK, because Jesus knows how you feel.  How do I know? Because it is written. Period. He knows.  It is the truth whether you believe it today or not.

What about the ‘man after God’s own heart’? David, the valiant King! All I can say is, I am so glad he penned words about some of his great battles, and I don’t think they were  battles with swords!

You see, my battle is against Truth vs. the lie. My enemy says things like, “God does not care.” “God has no idea,” the same old lie, but he also lies and says, “This is how it is going to be FOREVER.” Satan actual paints a picture in my mind of a pit in which I am in forever. Wait a minute-

So  if David didn’t pen Ps. 143, I wouldn’t have realized that ‘the pit’ is not the Truth for me.

Ps. 43: “Hear my prayer, O LORD, Give ear to my supplications! In Your faithfulness answer me, and in Your righteousness…for the enemy has persecuted my soul; He has crushed my life to the ground; He has made me dwell in darkness…Therefore my spirit is overwhelmed within me; My heart within me is distressed…” (this is King David, and the most valiant thing about him was – he cried out to God!)

“Answer me speedily, O LORD; My spirit fails! Do not hide Your face from me, lest I be like those who go down into the pit.”

The Truth is, I am not in the pit, I stand on the Rock! David’s Psalm continues:

(Ps. 143:11) “Revive me, O LORD, for Your name’s sake! For Your righteousness’ sake bring my soul out of trouble. In Your mercy cut off my enemies, and destroy all those who afflict my soul; For I am Your servant.”

Yes, I am thankful that the Word has been written, because it shines a light on what is TRUTH. Jesus knows the heavyhearted. David was heavyhearted, and I am not in a pit! Now that is the Truth!

“And you shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free.” (John 8:32)

.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

