I’ve got ‘marriage’ on the brain! My garden needs some work!

‘Mary, Mary, quite contrary, how does your garden grow?’

Why does this come to mind this morning? Well, the first thing I read this morning was Prov. 24:30-34, “I went by the field of the lazy man, And by the vineyard of the man devoid of understanding; And there it was, all overgrown with thorns; It’s surface was covered with nettles; Its stone wall was broken down…”

Well, I am thinking about marriage. My marriage. My marriage is most precious to the Lord. I need to always understand that!

So why do I think of my marriage when I think of gardens? Well, to keep a garden beautiful, you’ve got to attend to it! We all know that! How those weeds grow and grow, and if we don’t go out there, continuously,(not just one time) we will end up with our beautiful garden ‘all overgrown with thorns!’

So Proverbs 24 continues, “When I saw it, (the broken down wall and garden) I considered it well; I looked on it and received instruction:     A little sleep, a little slumber, A little folding of the hands to rest; So shall your poverty come like a prowler, And your need like an armed man.”

‘I considered it well,  not only being lazy, but be quite contrary-will not a beautiful garden grow!

God help us in our marriages! We need you Lord to keep us ‘awake’ and fill us with understanding that we might have the BEST Marriages. Yes, B-E-S-T, that we can be a Blessing to our mate. That we might Edify him or her. Lord that we take the time to Share our hearts and time with each other. and yes Lord, to understand the importance of Touch!

Thank you for giving me understanding to know in my heart that THIS is how I can bless You Lord!

Does anyone know where my gardening gloves are? I’ve got a garden to tend to!

 

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on “I’ve got ‘marriage’ on the brain! My garden needs some work!”

Leave a Reply

