“Gird up! Get up!”

After 37 excruciating  chapters of suffering in the life of Job, God finally speaks, the Yahweh, the LORD, the I AM WHO I AM,the Alpha and the Omega, the One that is the same yesterday, today and forever:

“Gird up thy loins like a man!”

Do you know what picture I see when I hear these words, “Gird up!”  I think of a moment in the movie, ‘Bambi’ (and very often at that). Near the end of the story, Bambi is sleeping and there is fire everywhere around him- then The Buck, (the Father, all knowing and wise) yes, the Buck runs through the fire to get to Bambi.

“Get up!” he says, “Get UP”, with a bit more intensity, as Bambi groggily awakens.  “GET UP!” he says for a third time.

God used cancer in my life to be that fire-to wake me up to LIFE. You see, my vision was horizontal, yes, I had the Lord, but I was heavy-hearted and focused on the trouble more than focusing on the Lord. The fruit in my life was being ‘choked’ because of the weeds of worry and the thorns of sorrow.

My Father in heaven, in the midst of this cancer fight spoke in His words, “Gird up!”, “Get up!”

“Awake, you who sleep, Arise from the dead, and Christ will give you light.” (Eph. 5:14,15)

“Walk circumspectly!” Eph. 5 says, or in other words, look around you-“Look carefully then how you walk! Live purposefully, not as unwise and witless, but as wise- sensible, intelligent people,(this is the Amplified Bible!) making the very most of the time- buying up each opportunity- because the days are evil.”

What about Paul the Apostle?  In Eph. 1:1, he wrote of being a prisoner (which he was),  but he proclaimed himself a prisoner of Jesus Christ. So he  wrote, (much of the New Testament) because his eyes were vertical, not horizontal. He didn’t focus on the prison gates and the bad food, he focused on the Lord and wrote of unsearchable riches in Christ.

And what about John Bunyun who was put in prison as well? He  wrote the wonderful journey of Christian in Pilgrim’s Progress. Or what about the prison that Joni Ericson Tada is in? Her own body being paralyzed and now even struck with cancer? Yet, she  shares her joy of the Lord to so many- HOW?

By having vision!

But wait, Fanny Crosby couldn’t see, she was blind! But what vision she had, writing Hymns with gladness and hope like Blessed Assurance. Words like,”Perfect submission, perfect delight! Visions of rapture now burst at my sight! …this is my story, this is my song, Praising my Savior all the day long.”

The days are very difficult and very hard. And we don’t know what tomorrow will bring, but the One who is the same yesterday, today and forever is speaking as the fires seem to be blazing all around, and He is saying, “Gird up!” “Get up!”

“High King of Heaven, my victory won, May I reach heaven’s joys, Bright heaven’s Son! Heart of my own heart, whatever befall,

Still be my vision, O Ruler of All.” (from Be Thou My Vision)

 

 

 

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on ““Gird up! Get up!””

Leave a Reply

