Somewhere, over the rainbow

My reading today, brought me a song.

So today I read in Rev. 4:1, “After these things I looked, and behold, a door standing open in heaven…” !

I have said this before, but when I was very sick from the chemo trying to kill the cancer, I truly felt that after the third treatment it was killing me! As I lay there,  I didn’t see lights, instead, I saw a door and it was open(!) and Jesus showed me His hands. Yes, His scars were still there. (I think of Thomas, the doubting disciple every time I think of this,  OK, so I’m like Thomas!)

Jesus was saying, “Toni, tell them about Me.” “Not all know Me as their King.”

Much of the time, God speaks to me from His word by giving me a song as well, today especially.

Today, in Rev. 4:2 , the Bible describes the throne of the King and what the King looked like: “And behold, a throne set in heaven, and One sat on the throne. And He who sat there was like a jasper and a sardus stone in appearance, and there was a rainbow around the throne, in appearance like an emerald.”

It is very true that the Jesus that is knocking at the door of our hearts does not actually look like the artist’s picture that is so familiar to us all!  He looks like precious stones. The jasper was clear, like a diamond! He is light. And a sardus stone, which is red- the atoning sacrifice. And there was a rainbow around the throne. Don’t you think of Noah and the ark, the rainbow was a sign of His promise not to destroy the earth with a worldwide flood again, it was a sign of His grace!

Here come the songs; and the One who sits on the throne is ‘the Father of light, and He delights in His children!’ and ‘it was my sin that nailed Him to a tree, it was His love that held Him there for me’, and around His throne is a rainbow-a sign of His grace, ‘Amazing Grace’. But there is a song that has been on my heart for quite some time now, that I simply must learn to play on my guitar. (Today in my spare time!)

‘Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high,

There’s a land that I’ve heard of , once in a lullaby. (Yes, heaven, but I learned about it from a great Book I like to read!)

Somewhere over the rainbow, skies are blue, and the dreams that you dare to dream really do come true.

Someday I’ll wish upon a star (I’ll turn my eyes upon Jesus!) and wake up where the clouds are far behind me. Where troubles melt like lemon drops and way above the chimney tops is where you’ll find me, that’s where you’ll find me.

Some where over the rainbow, little bluebirds fly, (the beautiful bluebirds, those very  special people in our lives that are already there, in that land that that we’ve heard of, way up high.)

Little bluebirds fly over the rainbow, why, well oh why can’t I?

Where troubles melt like lemon drops and way above the chimney tops, that’s where you’ll find me, that’s where you’ll find me, if happy little bluebirds fly beyond the rainbow, Why? o why, can’t I?

So today, I will set my mind on things above, not on things of the earth,(way up on those chimney tops where troubles melt like lemon drops), because ‘I died and my life is hidden with Christ in God! And when Christ who is my life appears, then I will appear with Him in glory!  Somewhere, over the rainbow.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

