‘And when my heart is overwhelmed…

lead me to the Rock that is higher than I.’

I will never forget the day when walking into an oncology office and sensing the voice of the Lord speaking to me-“This is the way, walk in it.” To me, chemo was like a giant hurricane, just like so many, when a huge storm is heading your way, only you don’t ‘walk in it’, it simply comes crashing through.

Storms remind me of the story that Jesus told of the wise man who ‘built his house on the rock’,(Matthew 7:24-27)”and the rain descended, the floods came, and the winds blew and beat on that house…” It wasn’t ‘if’ the storm  would come, it simply is ‘when’ the floods  would come.

So whether it is cancer, or a hurricane, or something else- there will be a storm.

The foundation of the wise man looks, to me,much  like Ps. 18:1-3, Amplified Version:

I LOVE You fervantly and devotedly, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my keen and firm strength in Whom I will trust and take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower. I will call upon the Lord, Who is to be praised; so shall I be saved from my enemies.

That is a house built on a Rock!

And did you know that our storm is recorded in the Bible? It’s in there, in Psalm 18 vs. 4-16. Yes, it seems like a lot of verses, but some of us have a very long storm!  (And it is not ‘if’ but ‘when’ the storm happens) And if you ever wondered what chemo was like, here it is, or this might sum up the storm you are going through:

The chords or bands of death surrounded me, and the streams of ungodliness and torrents of ruin terrified me. The chords of Sheol(the place of the dead) surrounded me; the snares of death confronted me and came upon me. In my distress (when seemingly closed in ) I called upon the Lord, and cried to my God;

He heard my voice out of His temple (heavenly dwelling place), and my cry came before Him, to His (very) ears.

Then the earth quaked and rocked; the foundations also of the mountains trembled, they moved and were shaken, because He was indignant and angry. There went up smoke from His nostrils, and lightning out of His mouth devoured; coals were kindled by it. He bowed the heavens also, and came down; and thick darkness was under His feet.

And He rode upon a cherub (a storm) and flew (swiftly); yes, He sped on with the wings of the wind. He made darkness His secret hiding place; as His pavilion (His canopy) round about Him were dark waters and thick clouds of the skies.

Out of the brightness before Him there broke forth through His thick clouds hailstones and coals of fire. And He sent His arrows, and scattered them; and He flashed forth lightnings, and put them to rout.

Then the beds of the sea appeared, and the foundations of the world were laid bare at Your rebuke, O Lord, at the blast of the breath of Your nostrils. He reached from on high, He took me, He drew me out of many waters.’

These verses read like an exciting movie!  What a battle against the enemy.

But the Good News is in Ps. 18:17-19:

He delivered me from my strong enemy, and from those who hated and abhorred me; for they were too strong for me. The confronted and came upon me in the day of my calamity; but the Lord was my stay and support. He brought me forth also into a large place; He was delivering me, because He was pleased with me and delighted in me.

He was delivering me, because He was pleased with me and delighted in me –

(vs. 2o,) the Lord rewarded me according to my righteousness… wow, He knows everything about me, He is the Father of Lights,(He sees it all!) and He delights in His children(amazing but true), so He knows I mess up every day! I have anger, and fretfulness, and irritability, and despair!  Then I remember- ‘This is all my righteousness- Nothing But the Blood of Jesus!’

(vs. 21)” For I have kept the ways of the Lord,… ” O my, so far from true. But my Father who is in heaven is seeing me washed by the blood. My Father sees me …

(vs.23)…”upright before Him and blameless”…
Because of the cross, and believing on Him, my Rescuer sees me upright and blameless! Wow!
Praying the storm does for you what it did for me. It caused me to “Turn my eyes upon Jesus. To look full in His wonderful face. (and even though the storm is long and hard…

He will deliver (Ps. 18:27-30) an afflicted and humble people…For You cause my lamp to be lighted and shine; the Lord my God illuminates my darkness. For by You I can run through a troop, and by my God I can leap over a wall. As for God, His way is perfect! The word of the lord is tested and tried; He is a shield to all those who take refuge  and put their trust in Him.(!) Exclamation point, mine!

For the foolish man, he just didn’t, and I’m not sure where his house is?

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

