“God doesn’t promise us heaven on this sin-cursed earth.” Chuck Smith.

Today, for many is a very hard day. The aftermath of any storm is hard. And there are many kinds of storms. But it is during the aftermath of destruction that we are tempted to think, “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life! Right! Maybe in some fairytale!

Chuck Smith, in his book, ‘Wisdom for Today’, spoke with wisdom when he reminded us that, “God doesn’t promise us heaven on this sin-cursed earth. But when by faith we see the spiritual dimension-the power of God, the hand of God, the love of God-we gain strength to endure.”

So, while we have to be here on this ‘sin-cursed earth’ and witness destruction and decay, and work our way in and through it,
AFTER the initial frustrations and even ‘suffering’, and then coming to realize, “this is not going to be over in a day, God has broken me.” Then finally in my surrender to Him, He gives me a ‘way of escape’. Somehow, He moves me, to a place in my heart where there is peace, somehow!It’s as if He gives me a pair of ‘rose colored’ glasses as a way to survive and get through it! So we carry on with our minds in the heavens! Kind of like being carried onto the ‘high chimney top where clouds are far behind me, in the song ‘Somewhere over the rainbow!.

Well, first of all, aren’t we instructed in Colossians 3 to ‘Set our minds on things above, not on earthly things?’ (vs.3) ‘For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.’
But wait, “the house is still destroyed”, you might say, or, “I can’t get out of this wheelchair.” or, “I have no idea how I’m going to pay next months rent.”

All of those things might be true, but can’t you see? The neighbor that you never had time to talk to,because life is so busy, is now coming over because they have power and want to offer you their stove or oven so you can cook, or even take a shower. That is the hand of God.

Conversations you would have NEVER had with some people, but since your storm, you make life long friendships. That is the love of God. All of a sudden, you can see the rainbow and you’re in it!

But the best part of all, is that your storm was so bad, you couldn’t fix it on your own- and you looked up! That is the power of God. And then you come to realize, “It is true. Goodness and mercy do follow me. They just look so different from how I imagined them to look.

But wait, “What about that messed up house?” you ask. Well, what we see looks pretty bad, and it might take a lot of work to get it back,or there is no getting it back – but we have to remember, what God told us beforehand that, ‘the things which are seen are temporary, but the things which are not seen are eternal(!)(2 Cor. 4:18) What we can see is decaying everyday, but what we can’t see knows NO decay- what we can’t see is what is REAL and LASTING!

So, how do we get through? Walk this earth,with your eyes up, and a song on your heart.
“The LORD is my strength and my song, And He has become my salvation.”(Ex. 15:2)It doesn’t say, The LORD is my strength and my sword, or my hammer, or my word- it says the LORD is my strength and my SONG- so while I walk this ‘sin-cursed earth, “Someday I wish upon a star (My bright and Morning Star), I’ll wake up where the clouds are far behind me, far behind me, (I’ll keep my mind in the heavens) ‘where troubles melt like lemon drops’ and ‘way up on the chimney tops is where you’ll find me, that’s where you’ll find me!’ Because my life is ‘hidden with Christ in God!’

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

