“But in the name of the LORD…

I have always wondered what the very middle of my Bible is? What does the very center of the Bible have to say? It has been figured out! Ps. 118 with the subtitle,’Better to Trust God than Man’ is the middle chapter and the verse that is in the middle:

Psalm 118:8:”It is better to trust in the LORD Than to put confidence in man.”

Here are portions of the heart of the Bible hidden in Psalm 118.

“OH, praise the LORD…
For His merciful kindness is great toward us, and the truth of the lORD endures forever.
Praise the LORD!…
I called on the LORD in distress; The LORD answered me and set me in a broad place.
The LORD is on my side;
I will not fear. What can man do to me?
The LORD is for me among those who help me;
It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in man.
It is better to trust in the LORD Than to put confidence in princes…

All nations surrounded me, But in the name of the LORD…

Yes, they surrounded me;
But in the name of the LORD…

they surrounded me…For in the name of the LORD…

But the LORD helped me. The LORD is my strength and my song, and He has become my salvation…
I will praise You, For You have answered me, And have become my salvation…

What is the name of the LORD? Well, Proverbs 18:10 tells us:

“The name of the LORD is a strong tower; the righteous run to it and are safe.”

My prayer for the afflicted,

“God, we are running to You. Be our present help in times of trouble. Take our fearful hearts and fill them with confidence in You. Pour out more and more grace Lord so we are able to trust You today and ‘Believe You- even in this!’ Because Your word teaches us: “It is better to trust in the LORD!”

May You give us a song to sing to lift us above our earthly realities.
“Be Still My Soul, the LORD is on thy side. Bear patiently, the cross of grief or pain. Leave to Thy God, to order and provide, in every change, He faithful will remain. Be Still my soul, thy best, thy heavenly friend, through thorny ways, leads to a joyful end. Jesus, we love you and need You desperately.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

