Are we hungry for the Lord’s Table?

We are busy! We have responsibilities, we have schedules, we have setbacks, we have challenges, and all of a sudden the ‘cares of this world’ begin to choke the life right out of us. Oh, but there is a wonderful day when many of us are able to clear the calendar because we are going to meet at a Thanksgiving table- somewhere! A Thanksgiving table to relax and enjoy and reflect. How we love a holiday. Oh, but what many of us need is a Holy Day!We need a Holy day in our hearts.

Yes, God has a Table, a Table of Communion, and He is always prepared to serve.Many of us actually know that it is there, but we reason within ourselves and say, “I’ve got this. Maybe some other time.” So we don’t meet at the Lord’s Table. There is no hunger, there is no thirst, so we continue on our ‘merry little way’.

But the LORD, the LORD God is merciful and gracious, He suffers long and He abounds in goodness and truth, keeping mercy,(that is not getting what you deserve) for thousands, forgiving iniquity, forgiving transgression AND forgiving sin,(wow! even if we don’t know specifically what each of those words mean, I think that pretty much covers it all, but He punishes those who hate Him. (Ex. 34:6,7)

God waits at His Table for us to come. He calls us and says, “Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.”(Matthew 11:28)

So, back to carrying on our ‘merry little way’. There comes a moment,a moment that we consider to be the worst moment ever, when we realize how starving we actually are, that we are ‘poor and needy, weak and wounded, sick and sore,’. And the Father knows that this is the best moment ever, because He desires to draw His children to His Table, hungry-because it is then that they will finally ‘taste and see’ that the He is good.

You are hungry for God, and come to the Lord’s Table. You take a broken and pierced piece of bread and you realize, “He knows what it is like to be poor, to be lonely, to be rejected, to be full of sorrow, to be completely misunderstood, and treated shamefully, even angry, He knows.”

And as you chew on that broken piece of bread and are reminded that “the wages of sin is death,… (Rom 6:23) you can hear Jesus say these words to His Father: “I am willing.” And the words to a long forgotten hymn come to mind:
“Alas! And did my Savior bleed And did my sovereign die? Would He devote that sacred Head For such a worm as I? Was it for crimes that I have done He groaned up on the tree? Amazing pity! grace unknown! and love beyond degree!”

You are finally ready to take the cup from the Lord’s Table, and think of Jesus’ own words,”for this is My blood of the New covenant which is shed for many for the forgiveness of sins.”(Matthew 26:28)

The hymn plays again in your mind: “But drops of grief can ne’er repay the debt of love I owe; Here Lord, I give myself away- ‘Tis all that I can do.
At the cross, at the cross where I first saw the light, and the burden of my heart rolled away! It was there by faith I received my sight, and now I am happy all the day!”

I am usually moaning after sitting at the Thanksgiving table, like an overstuffed bird!
But after time at the Lord’s Table, I feel lighter and free, and all I want to do is sing songs of thanksgiving!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

