How do I clean up this smelly mess?

Yes, it was today, this very morning, before all the kids woke to prepare for school that I prayed to the Lord, “Search me O God, and know my heart: Try me, and know my thought; and see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”(Ps. 139:23,24)

Well, it didn’t take long for the Lord to reveal that it doesn’t take much and ‘instead of a sweet smell there is a stench!” (Isaiah 3:24) In me that is!

I am sure that it is only in my home that there is an occasional ‘impossible person’. Well, in my home we all take turns at being that ‘impossible person’. (In a Bible sense it would be ‘walking in the flesh’ as apposed to ‘walking in the Spirit’.) Anyway, today one of my children decided to wake up as the ‘impossible person’! It did not take long for this child to be fuming because NOTHING was going his/her way! The child refused to eat breakfast, refused to find solutions to the problems. And before long, the siblings were put out by all the noise and fret and entered in with all their ‘flesh’,(do I need to explain?) and, ‘flesh’ it was – that came out of me!

THIS is when I need that ‘good nerve damage’ that my dear Pastor Gary so pocessed!(written in an earlier post) Why do I have all my nerves? Even after spending time with the Lord? Most pitiful- well, actually, most stinky!

2 Cor 2:15 “For we are to God the fragrance of Christ,” NOT! When we are walking in the flesh!

So this is what I did. (I am sure this does not happen in any other house), I shouted, (very loudly and with exasperation as well) “BE QUIET!” In an attempt to get everyone quiet so we can at least pray!
I am not sure that I was really praying yet! (At least the prayer calmed my heart, I can’t say much for the kids!)
“Help me!” (Psalm 119:86!) Yes, those words, just like that, are in the Bible! Moms, make sure it is marked! You will need this prayer a lot!

Okay, the only thing I know about being a mother, and I know for certain, I will have another opportunity to get this one right! So I am writing this on my chalkboard in my kitchen:

1) STOP. DROP. To stop, we pray, “LORD, once again I need to present myself to You as a living sacrifice. Yes, living, and yes, this is a sacrifice!

2) Now that I am here Lord, Help me ‘deny myself’. I might have the ‘right’ to be angry,but help me ‘deny myself’ my rights, my frustrations, my offenses – to put them off like dirty clothes – yes, they can be stinky!)

3)Lord, give me a willing heart to ‘do what’s right in Your sight.’ Give me courage to speak the wisest words: “I’m sorry, I was wrong.” And Lord, if I don’t have a willing heart, will You give me one?

4)OK, so that was STOP and DROP, But now Lord, help me TURN AROUND. Help me take captive of my thoughts. If they are thoughts that bring fret and pain, they are not from You. Am I projecting as true an unknown future? Help me to TURN AROUND and totally give myself over to You, God.

So instead of a ‘dirty, smelly vessel’, I can be a vessel ‘fit for the master’s use’!

So, even if my kids don’t get it right now, help me to get it!

Ps. 19:14, “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart Be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD, my strength and my redeemer.”

Do we need to be reminded what the works of the flesh are? It is like opening up the smelliest container ever: (from the Int. Children’s Bible, Gal 5:19-23)

“The wrong things the sinful self does are clear: being sexually unfaithful, not being pure, taking part in sexual sins, worshiping false gods, doing witchcraft, hating, making trouble, being jealous, being angry with each other, causing divisions among people, having envy, being drunk, having wild and wasteful parties, and doing other things like this.

“…”But the fruit of the Spirit gives love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.”

and… the prize? “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, neither has entered into the heart of man, the things which God has prepared for them that love, (agape, totally give themselves to) Him.” (1 Cor. 2:9)

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

