If I say, “My foot slips,” Your mercy, O LORD, will hold me up.(Ps. 94:18)

If I say, “My foot slips!”

Why are some days like this? Lord, today I say, “my foot slips!” Every step is an effort. I wake up with doubt and fear and ‘trouble on every side’ so to speak! Does anyone else have this happen to them?

Yet, Ps. 94:18 reminds me,, “My foot slips, Your mercy, O LORD, will hold me up.”
What if I didn’t have the word to remind me? My very own thoughts are the death of me!
God has brought me to a place where obeying the word is no longer a choice – it’s a matter of life and death! Once again, I must enter into battle.

So, I take up my sword, the word of God, to help fight my enemies of fear and doubt:
“Why are you cast down, O my soul? And why are you disquieted within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him for the help of His countenance.”(Ps 42:5)

“Lift up your eyes on high, And see who has created these things, Who brings out their host by number; He calls them all by name, By the greatness of His might and the strength of His power; Not one is missing. (Is. 40:26)

Then I remember my Hymn, (I’m calling it ‘my’ Hymn now. I have two that I call my own, Be Still my Soul and Be Thou My Vision.) But today, I think on these words:“Be still my soul, thy God doth undertake, to guide thy future, as He has the past. Thy hope thy confidence, let nothing shake – all now mysterious, shall be bright at last, be still my soul, the waves and wind still know, His voice who rules them while He dwelt below…”

I need ‘Thy hope thy confidence’:(Hebrews 10: 35,36)“Therefore do not cast away your confidence, which has great reward. For you have need of endurance, so that after you have done the will of God you may receive the promise.”

This is our confidence: (1 John 5: 14,15) “Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, he hears us. And if we know that He hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we have asked of Him.”

And finally, “Being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ.” ‘Your mercy, O LORD’ is holding me up! Your word gives me solid footing again.

All of a sudden, I feel my step getting a bit lighter, and my own countenance softening. Is this what it means to ‘work out my own salvation? with fear and trembling?’ (Phil 2:12) Maybe this is what Paul meant as well in Philippians 2:16 when he said,
“holding fast the word of life…”

So I started my day with my head in the dumps, but thanks be to God for His wonderful mercy, that brought me to His word, to hold me up. When I wake tomorrow, I will remind myself, before thinking of the realities of life – to ‘hold fast the word of life!’ then maybe my path won’t be so slippery.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on “If I say, “My foot slips,” Your mercy, O LORD, will hold me up.(Ps. 94:18)”

Leave a Reply

