“Be of good cheer, I have overcome the world!”

(Sorry, this one is long, but the message is very important to me.)

“I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! (Be of good cheer!NKJ) I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33NIV)

“In Me, you may have peace.” “In this world you will have trouble.”
But take hold of your anxious and weary heart, (be of good cheer!) – I have overcome the world! This is Jesus talking.

Jesus has overcome the world – not a people, but a philosophy, a system of thinking apart form God. So, today I was thinking about, ‘in the world’, and remembered Jesus prayer for His disciples, for those who believe in Him, in John 17:6-,
“I have revealed You to those whom You gave me out of the world….For I gave them the words You gave Me and they accepted them. They knew with certainty that I came from You, and they believed that You sent Me.
I pray for them. I am not praying for the world, but for those You have given Me, for they are Yours…I will remain in the world no longer, but they are still in the world, and I am coming to You.
Holy Father, protect them by the power of Your name – the name You gave Me – so that they may be one as we are one.”

“I am coming to You now, but I say these things while I am still in the world,
so that they may have the full measure of my joy within them.”

Be of good cheer, He overcame the world! Remember, Jesus prays for us while we are in this world. He prayed that we would be protected by the power of God’s name.”For I gave them the words You gave me and they accepted them.”

What do we need to be protected from in this world? 1John 2:16 reminds us, “for all that is in the world the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life.”

Jesus prayed that we would be protected in this world,by the power of “Your name”, all that God the Father is.
And that is what a father does for his children, he naturally ‘protects’. I am reminded again what Jesus said in John 17:8, “For I gave them the words you gave me and they accepted them.”

Well, what were some of the words?
Well, the Father allowed the Son to be led into the wilderness by the Spirit. (Matthew 4:1) Into a desert, Jesus was led.
Are you in a wilderness? Do you feel that you are in a desert? This is when the tempter will come.
In the world is the lust of the flesh.
“The tempter came to him(Jesus) and said,
“(Since)If You are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread.”

Jesus: “It is written: ‘Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.'”

Have you been led into the wilderness? The tempter will tempt as he did the Lord, the temptation of ‘the pride of life’,
“Since You are the Son of God, throw Yourself down. For it is written,
“He will command His angels concerning you, and they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.”

Jesus: “It is also written: ‘Do not put the Lord your God to the test.'”

Have you been led into a desert by the Spirit? The tempter will come, he will tempt with ‘the lust of the eyes’.
He tempted Jesus, (Matthew 4:8) “Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their splendor. ‘All this I will give you,’he said, ‘if you will bow down and worship me.'”

Jesus: “Away from Me, Satan! For it is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve Him only.'”
Then the devil left Him and the angels came and attended Him.
“Be of good cheer, I have overcome the world!”

REVELATION 3:21,22, “To him who overcomes, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on His throne. He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.”

Did you know, that to him who overcomes, Jesus Himself will give right to sit with Him on His throne?!

“Be of good cheer, I have overcome the world!”
He has given us the Word. We can overcome! May we have a ‘full measure of His joy within us’!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

