A Psalm of David when he was in the desert of Judah…

Let us talk to one another in spiritual songs ,Psalms, Psalm 63:
“O God, You are my God, earnestly I seek You; my soul thirsts for You, my body longs for You, In a dry and weary land where there is no water. I have seen You in the sanctuary and beheld Your power and Your glory.
Because Your love is better than life, my lips will glorify You. I will praise You as long as I live, and in Your name I will lift up my hands. My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise You.”

After the title Psalm 63, the subtitle for this Psalm is, “A psalm of David. When he was in the Desert of Judah.”

These are the words penned by David while in the desert. Where there is no water. There is no sanctuary.

So, so many of us find ourselves in a desert, because of sickness, or surgery, because of great personal loss…
“Holy Spirit of God, for Yours is the Kingdom and the Power and the Glory, forever and ever. Pour out Your Holy Spirit so this might be our song in the desert.”

(Ps. 63:6-11)”On my bed I remember You; I think of You through the watches of the night. Because You are my help, I sing in the shadow of Your wings. My soul clings to You; Your right hand upholds me.
They who seek my life (cancer cells, doubt, despair,etc.)will be destroyed; they will go down to the depths of the earth. They will be given over to the sword and become food for the jackals. But the king will rejoice in God;…”

It is true that very parched, dry earth readily absorbs the water. Are you in a desert physically, emotionally, spiritually? So was David when he wrote Psalm 63. Isn’t the water of the word so refreshing? Doesn’t our dry, parched spirit finally ‘hear’. We must always remember that “He does not afflict willingly, Nor grieve the children of men.(Lamentations 3:33). “For the Lord will not cast off forever. Though He causes grief, Yet He will show compassion According to the multitude of His mercies.” (Lam 3:31-32)

Is there a song to keep me on track today?
Come Lord Jesus , come… To all who are thirsty, to all who are weak, come to the fountain, dip your heart in the ‘streams of life’. Let the pain and the sorrow, be washed away-in the waves of Your mercy, as deep cries out to deep…we sing, “Come.”

“Because Your lovingkindness is better than life, My lips shall praise You. Thus I will bless You while I live;”Ps. 63:3.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on “A Psalm of David when he was in the desert of Judah…”

  1. Have not thanked you lately for sharing with us. I am blessed everytime i read your post. Thank you.
    Lord be with Tony today take all fear and doubt remove it from her mind and heart. Bless her with as many blessing as she has blessed us. Amen Love you

Leave a Reply

