Is God’s word for me?

What if, for the very first time in years, you are opening your Bible, because you have been broken and need strength?
Maybe you’ve been battling cancer for years and your trust was in the Doctors and all they knew but now it has spread out of control, and you find yourself opening the Bible as well. Can these words speak to you?
Or, what if you have been doing your own thing for years and didn’t really care about God much- but now you find yourself opening His Book. Does God have words for you?

Well, what if you just happened to open the Bible right in the middle. If you were to open your Bible to the very middle chapter it would be Psalm 118. This is amazing because Psalm 118 was the song, (or hymn) that Jesus sung with His disciples after His Last Supper in the Upper Room, (Matthew 26:30-). This was a song that Jesus sung with his friends before facing huge suffering.

So if you were to just open up God’s Book and you happened to land right in the middle chapter, looking for some answers, you would be here in Psalm 118, A song that Jesus sung before He was to suffer huge trial at the hands of men- being spit on and beaten and laughed at, being whipped 39 lashes with a ‘cat of 9 tails’, then having to carry His own cross, which ultimately He was too weak to do, then nailed to it from his wrists and lifted up to suffer suffocation and extreme pain.
(This makes me think of the verse,) John 12:32, “And I, if I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all peoples to Myself.” (Jesus’ words.)

“What was the song!?” you ask.
Ps. 118:1-5,

OH,give thanks to the LORD, for He is good! Because His mercy endures forever…
Let those who fear the LORD , now say, “His mercy endures forever.”

I called on the LORD in distress; The LORD answered me and set me in a broad place. The LORD is on my side; I will not fear. What can man do to me? The LORD is for me among those who help me; Therefore I shall see my desire on those who hate me.”

First of all you might ask, “What if I haven’t been one to ‘fear the Lord?’ Do His mercies still endure forever?” “If I call to God in my distress, will He hear me?”
“Is the LORD on my side?”
Yes. He is drawing you to Himself in your brokenness. He knows your name. He has been waiting for you.

Psalm 118:7“The LORD is for me among those who help me; Therefore I shall see my desire on those who hate me. You see, our enemies are fear and hatred and despair,among many others,like pride and slothfulness, etc., but the word says, “The LORD is on my side.The LORD is for me, I will not fear.” That is the truth. He’s not checking His list, and checking it twice like Santa Clause, The LORD is on our side. He knows we are a mess and need Him. He’s not waiting for us to get it right and then come to Him. He’ll take us right now, The LORD is for me.

Call upon the LORD in your distress, the LORD will answer you. You see, Jesus sang these words before great trial. He called upon His Father in His distress and had strength to endure death on the cross to set you and me free, for now and eternity.

“To infinity and beyond!” (Sorry, I couldn’t help it.)

So, if you were curious to know the exact middle verse of the whole Bible, These words are for you and these words are for me, Psalm 118:8, “It is better to trust in the LORD Than to put confidence in man.”

Whether we are trusting for the very first time, or continuing to trust- We’ve got to believe what God is telling us. “It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in man.”
God’s word is for you and God’s word is for me.

John 3:16, “Whoever believes in Him,” God’s word is for ‘whoever will believe!’
Today… today, He’s speaking to you and He’s speaking to me.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

