Does our tree have a lot of fruit?

Have you ever picked fresh apples from a tree at an apple orchard? Don’t you always look for the best, fruitful tree?

In 1John 4:7, I read, “Beloved, let us love one another. Because love is of God;

and then I remember Galatians 5:22, “But the fruit of the Spirit is love…”

So, if you and I were fruit trees in an orchard, and the fruit is love, would our tree be yielding lots of fruit? What if God was doing the inspecting? (Psalm 139:23,24)”Search me, O God, and know my heart; Try me, and know my anxieties; And see if there is any wicked way in me, And lead me in the way everlasting.”

When God searches my heart for fruit of love, joy, peace, patience…
I become ‘poor in spirit’. I truly miss the mark. I’m irritable at times and often impatient, and the last thing my family sees in me is joy. Oh, but I have reasons! It’s because of great stresses and troubles, and I just don’t feel well!

I am so sorry to say that often I start my day singing, but often times as the ‘grape is getting crushed’ instead of making ‘wine’ in me, it is simply producing a big ‘whine’!

Once again I find myself in Rom. 7, wanting to do what is right, but doing those things that I don’t want to do!

But you and I need to remember- we are in a war! We must remember, we must know that (Eph 6:12) “We do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.”

So, that weird argument that came out of nowhere – that’s not against each other,(flesh and blood), that against the enemy, (principalities). It’s not mother and father against daughter or son, it’s not boss against employee, it’s not friend against friend – don’t you see?

Satan is trying to ‘steal, kill, and destroy all that God has for us!

So, we have to STOP! (That’s the ‘search me O God prayer…’)
We need to remember: “If any man,(that includes children and women, don’t squirm out of His ‘searchlight’) come after Me, he must deny himself. (O my goodness, those are NOT easy words! We’ve got to remember we are in a war and we want fruit!)

Is God saying to me and to you: “Lay down your rights, I did.” “Lay down your pride. Let go of your tight grip on stuff and control. Remember, everything ultimately belongs to Me and I am in control, you can let go. Did you not pray to Me, “Try me and know my thoughts, see if there be any wicked way in me…? Let Me lead you in the way…”

“Lord, lead us in the way.”
In James 3: 13-18, God speaks very clearly,
“Do you want to raise a harvest of righteousness? Then be a peacemaker.
Have wisdom and understanding and show it by deeds done in humility. Do you ‘harbor bitter envy and selfish ambition in your hearts? Do not boast about it or deny the truth’ because this wisdom is not of Me, it is ‘earthly, unspiritual, of the devil. For where you have envy and selfish ambition, there you find confusion and every evil thing.”
“Do you want a harvest of fruit? Then know, that ‘the wisdom that comes from above is first pure;
then peaceable,
gentle,
willing to yield,

full of mercy…’,
don’t give them what you think they deserve,
and please remember, ‘if you love someone, with My love, you will be loyal to him no matter what the cost. You will always believe in him, always expect the best of him, and always stand your ground in defending him. My love never fails.'”(1Corinthians 13:7,8)(Living Bible)

So I think what God is showing me and you, as He leads and we choose to follow is, maybe we don’t have to win and end on top or be ‘right’. Maybe to win is simply being willing to yield,
being willing to yield to Him,
because He is love.

“Now the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.” James 3:18.

“Help us bear good fruit Lord! Truly, not by might, nor by power, but by Your Spirit!
In Jesus name, AMEN.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

