But as for me, my feet had almost slipped, Ps. 73.

Honestly now, have you ever thought in this way: “Look at the national leaders and the rich and the famous, and many are those who don’t care about God – ‘they have no struggles; their bodies are healthy and strong. they are free from burdens common to man.'”

These are the very words of the Psalmist in Psalm 73. And he continues,(73:7-11) “pride is their necklace; they clothe themselves with violence. From their callous hearts comes iniquity…They scoff, and speak with malice; in their arrogance they threaten oppression…They say, “How can God know? Does the Most High have knowledge?”

But then we get all tripped up because we are looking out in the world system and we come up with ideas similar to the Psalmist of Psalm 73:12-14, “This is what the wicked are like – always carefree, they increase in wealth. Surely in vain have I kept myself pure; in vain have I washed my hands in innocence. All day long I have been plagued; I have been punished every morning.” Basically thinking, “I have followed God for nothing.”

Then our thoughts are so crazy we cannot even say them or we will confuse the younger generation whom we have taught, ‘to obey is better than sacrifice,’ etc.So we remain silent and think amiss.
Have you ever been there? Well, I have, and I am very sorry for it.

Listen to this verse, (Psalm 73:16) “When I tried to understand all this, it was oppressive to me…” this was my experience totally. I got my eyes off of God and had them on people. But God loved me so much as He did the Psalmist…

until I entered the sanctuary of God; then I understood…

Only for me, God also led me into the infusion room to be loaded with conventional poisons to shrink a large tumor that had been growing for years! The NIV version says it well in vs. 21,22, “Before, my heart was grieved and my spirit embittered, I was senseless and ignorant; I was a brute beast before You.”

‘Until I entered the sanctuary of God,’ or for me, until I entered the infusion room and God spoke to me the same truths He gave the Psalmist of Psalm 73:

“Toni,(and you might as well put your name in here also, because it is true for you as well,)
“I am always with you.
I hold you by My right hand.
I guide you with My counsel,
and afterwards you give Me glory.”

God broke my heart as He did the Psalmist, and perhaps yours,and that is OK, because God will not despise a broken and contrite heart(Ps. 51:17), so we respond to Him, (Psalm 73:25,26) “Whom have I in heaven but You?
And there is none upon earth that I desire besides You,
My flesh and my heart fail; But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

So today, my heart is burdened for those who are far from You, God, because ‘those who are far from You will perish…”(Psalm 73:27). I have learned my lesson, I fix my eyes on You God, and as the Psalmist in verse 29, “I will tell of all Your deeds.”

“Surely God is good…But as for me, my feet almost slipped…”Ps. 73:1,2.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

