“This is the way, walk in it…”

One thing I like about walking is, it slows you down. And when you walk with someone else,it is more pleasant and you quickly begin to walk in time with each other.

So I ask myself this question,
What does it mean to ‘walk in step with Christ?’

He says, “Call Me Father.” “Come walk with Me my child.” “I will show you the most excellent way.”

So I make the choice and put on my walking shoes and join my Father.
As He walks, He talks,
“So, now I will show you the best way of all.
You may learn to speak in different languages, and even have the gift of tongues, but if you don’t have love – then you are just noise.
And you might think that you know a lot about My mysteries and you might think you have a lot of knowledge and you might even think your faith is something to shout about,
but if you don’t have love, you are nothing.”

There is silence on my end, my steps are having trouble keeping up.

“You might even give all you have to the poor, and even give your body to suffer for Me, but if you do these things without love – they are nothing.”

“My Love suffers long, is patient and is kind.”My love is never jealous or envious. My love is never proud. I will not be selfish or treat you rudely. I will never demand My own way. I do not get moody and irritable. I will not hold a grudge, and when others do me wrong, I hardly notice.

God is showing me His way of loving, and all I can think is,

“O.K.,that is it! I can not take this anymore! This is too much for me. I cannot suffer short and then be kind, let alone suffer-long!
And proud, the saddest thing is any time I do anything well, I can hear the prideful thoughts in my head – always – giving me a pat on the back or tooting a horn for me. Most pitiful, most pitiful indeed.
So I finally speak,
“But Father”, I reply, “I just can’t do this.”

“Yes, that is very true. Apart from Me, you can do nothing(John 15:5. But I will tell you, “If you keep your eyes on My Son and pray. Watch Him, He is all that I am in bodily form. He will show you. Walk in Him.Colossians 2:6
“Walk in love, just as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet smelling aroma.” Ephesians 5:2.

“But I don’t even know if I am willing to walk in love. I am not even willing most of the time.”

“If you don’t have a willing heart, just ask Me to give you one. Keep your eyes on Jesus. I will never give up on you.”
“Come now, and let us reason together,” Says the LORD,
“Though your sins are like scarlet, They shall be white as snow;
Though they are red like crimson,
they shall be as wool.”

“You are forgiven. You are clean. I love you with an everlasting love.
My love never fails.
Are you willing to walk in love?”

I hear the words, but my heart is heavy.
“That means I have to die to all my hurts, and all my bitterness, all of my impatience, and especially my selfishness.”

“Yes, but only one minute at a time. Step by step. Just keep walking with Me. Don’t turn around and get discouraged. Remember, I am patient and kind!

So I’m walking slow, not keeping up with His pace at all, but walking nonetheless.I think I will just follow Him!
“For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I am known.
And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is
love.” 1 Corinthians 13:12,13.

And “with God, all things are possible.”Matthew 19:26.

Step, step, trip,
step, step, trip.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

