The best walk ever – in Him…

…step, step, trip. step, step, trip.

This is a picture of my walk, following the Lord.

But God is not stumbled by my stumble-ing! Because,
“You, O Lord, are a God full of compassion, and gracious, Longsuffering and abundant in mercy and truth.” Psalm 86:15.

So, as I get my eyes off the pebbles of problems, and stop focusing on the heat of fear and doubt, and focus on The One in whom I am following –

I am lighter on my feet. I start walking with a better rhythm.

At this time, because of the change of attitude, there is a change in my altitude.

“Let God arise,

may his enemies be scattered; may his foes flee before him. As smoke is blown away by the wind, may you blow them away;
as wax melts before the fire,
may the wicked perish before God
may they be happy and joyful…” Psalm 68:1-3.

This is what happens as I turn my eyes upon Jesus, my enemies become scattered. How do I overcome the enemies of anxiety, the enemies of fear, the enemies of regret and impatience, the enemies of anger. And how how can one overthrow the enemy of impulsiveness and addiction?

“Let God arise!”

“As smoke is blown away by the wind, may you blow them away; as wax melts before the fire, may the wicked perish before God.”

There is no strength in ourselves to overcome these enemies we face each day –

“But thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place.”
2 Corinthians 2:14.

So our steps aren’t perfect, but our eyes are on the One who is Able, and we see ourselves become a more gracious and compassionate people because that is how He is with us.

“But we all, with unveiled face,
beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord,
are being transformed into the same image
from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.” 2 Corinthians 3:18.

step, step, …fixing eyes on Jesus, step, step, fixing eyes on Jesus!

“As you have therefore received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk in Him!” Clossians 2:6.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

