“Thy hope, thy confidence, let nothing shake…”

“Thy hope, thy confidence, let nothing shake.
All now mysterious,…”

There are times in our lives where we can truly say, “all is now mysterious”

‘Thy hope, thy confidence, let nothing shake?’
It gets shaken. Our confidence, our hope, it gets shaken.

And for this reason, I share a bit of my story:

After being diagnosed with breast cancer two years ago, (7 years now), and being instructed of the Doctor’s protocol – chemo, surgery, etc. I found myself at the book shelf – for me, my book shelf is like a teddy bear. I love books. I pulled out a book given to me a years before, but never read. Then Sings My Soul by Robert J. Morgan. On the cover it states “150 of the World’s Greatest Hymn Stories.”

I suppose a cancer diagnosis makes one reach for the hymnal on the shelf. Then Sings My Soul is next to my Bible now.

The hymn stories are amazing, but the story that comes back to me over and over again is Robert J. Morgans’s story on the beginning pages. His is a powerful story. Titled, “The Cure for Shot Nerves.”

His little story changed me. I share it with you:
The Cure for Shot Nerves – “It was a small pond of brownish water near my motel, bound on one side by a freeway…an unlikely spot for a personal retreat. But I was in no shape to be choosy. I was exhausted, my nerves were shot, and I felt dangerously close to some sort of breakdown. The sun was warm, the birds were raising a careful chorus, and, thankfully, no one else was around. As I began walking, the words of an old hymn I’d learned in college came to mind, and instinctively, almost unconsciously, I began singing it softly:
Praise the Savior, ye who know Him,…
there followed a verse of:
The God of Abraham praise, Who reigns enthroned above;…
Then Fanny Crosby’s,
All the way My Savior leads me, What have I to ask beside?Can I doubt His tender mercy Who through life has been my guide?
Ducks glided over the pond, and a couple of geese waddled past with a flourescent-yellow brood of goslings. I heard myself singing quietly the old Scottish rendition of the 23rd Psalm: The Lord’s My Shepherd, I’ll not want…

“That hour by the tiny lake was better for me than a month of therapy, and it did me more good than a dozen self-help books. Then and there I felt emerging twinges of a “restored soul.”
“What if I had not known those hymns?”

These are the words that come to mind almost daily now,
“What if I had not known those hymns?” (Then Sings My Soul by Robert J. Morgan.)

I didn’t know the hymns, but I passionately adore reading them and singing today.

I battle with anxiety, doubts, and fears almost constantly when I think about of the “earthly troubles,” instead of “setting my mind on things above.”

I know that we are to “be anxious for nothing,” and I pray and “try” to have a thankful heart, but there are times when I get physically exhausted trying to chase away all the fear, doubt, and anxiety that comes at me through the course of one day.
Does anyone else relate?

But, for me, God stops it all – all the craziness – with a song.

“He stops it all with a song? Yeah, right,” you might be thinking!

God used it all for good in allowing me to be “made to lie down.” I opened a hymnal and discovered these words:
“Be still, my soul;
Thy God doth undertake
to guide thy future
as He has the past.
Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake;
All now mysterious
shall be bright at last.
Be still my soul; the waves and winds still know His voice who ruled them
while He dwelt below.

Reading aloud hymns and God’s word is truly a
help and a “cure for my shot nerves.”

Acts. 20:24,
“But none of these things move me;
nor do I count my life dear to myself so that I may finish my race with joy
and the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus,
to testify to the gospel of the the grace of God.”

“Thy hope, thy confidence, let nothing shake” . . . just keep singing, just keep singing       Selah

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on ““Thy hope, thy confidence, let nothing shake…””

  1. Reblogged this on Toni Rypkema and commented:

    Gleaning from an amazing book: “Then Sings My Soul.” I reblog, because this man penned what I needed to know: A cure for shot nerves! I hope this inspires you to read aloud songs of old to refresh your soul!

Leave a Reply

