Tell me something good.

’The eternal God is your refuge, And underneath are the Everlasting arms; He will thrust out the enemy from before you, And will say, “Destroy!”’Deut. 33:27.

How’s that for something good?

God is eternal.  “Have you not known? Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He does not faint or grow weary;
his understanding is unsearchable. Isaiah 40:28.

The same yesterday, today, and forever.

He doesn’t change His mind.

He doesn’t forget His children.

He is able to supply all their needs in Christ Jess.

But we come to trouble, what then? Like the old hymn sings out: “Though Satan should buffet and trials should come…”(from “It is Well With My Soul),

I don’t like those words at all, but they are true, and we all know it-weather we like them or not!

Imagine the infusion room, where many are hooked up getting their chemo to fight cancer. But this is an incredible place. Hearts are so soft for the Lord there. I haven’t met one person in ‘the chair’ that didn’t want to talk about God, or be reminded that God loves them. I have never received the reply “no” when I ask them, “Can I pray for you?” Someone did this for me when I was in ‘the chair’. I was strengthened.
Who would not want to hear of the One who is a refuge and that underneath are the Everlasting arms? The One who is able to thrust out the enemy from before us and will say, “Destroy!”

THAT is what we want to hear otherwise the trials will have us filled with fear. Fighting any frightening disease or great trial requires ‘right thinking’.

Truly the Lord becomes our strength, if He wasn’t before the trial. He strengthens supernaturally by His Spirit because ‘underneath are the everlasting arms,‘ ,and yes, I am convinced, that He helps us have the ‘right thoughts’ by a song.
Once again I mention the verse,
“The LORD is my strength and my song and He has become my Salvation.”Ex. 15:2.

This is God’s Word, He knows what we need! We need Him and we need a song.

So, back to that old familiar hymn, do you know the rest of the words of that verse? If you are under attack and trials have come –
“Though Satan should buffet and trials should come
Let this blessed assurance control; that Christ has regarded my helpless estate
and He’s shed His own blood for my soul!”

It is true, we must get our thoughts together ‘when Satan should buffet and trials should come’, ‘let this blessed assurance control’. Whatever state you are in,
be it ‘ hard pressed on every side, or perplexed, it doesn’t matter what state you and I are in – we can know for a fact that ‘Christ has regarded my helpless estate and yours! He knows what is going on.

So how do we continue on?
How do we get through the moment by moment?
By having the ‘right thinking’ going on, THAT’S HOW.
You see, the enemy of Doubt and Fear show up on the scene over and over again, what then? Well, we’ve got weapons, and they are ‘mighty for the pulling down of strongholds’but for the moment by moment we need even more than prayer –

we need to ‘bring every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ.’
What are the words in the age-old hymn? ‘That Christ has regarded my helpless estate and He’s shed His own blood for my soul.’ He knows your helpless estate, and mine – but He’s taken care of the whole thing! We have to remember that!

He died to set me free, so He gently says to you and to me,

“…be content with what you have, because…
“I will never leave you;
never will I forsake you,”

So we say with confidence,

“The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.
What can man do to me?” Hebrews 13:5,6.

So the Father has called you and I in our discontentment and I picture Him on a big sofa, tapping the space next to Himself for us, and He says,
“Come now, and let us reason together,” Says the LORD,
“Though your sins are like scarlet, They shall be white as snow;
Though they are red like crimson, they shall be as wool.”

Supernaturally He has helped me, and He has also given me a song.
All of a sudden I can sing in spirit and in truth “It is well with my soul. It is well, it is well with my soul.
Are you singing His song?

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

