“For your Father knows…”

Your Father in heaven…knows.
But sometimes, I don’t ‘believe’ He knows.

But the words are there. They are right there in Matthew 6:8, and Jesus himself spoke them to us, “For your Father knows the things you have need of before you ask Him.”
But He goes on and encourages us to pray, but not to God – to ‘our Father…”

“In this manner, therefore, pray: “Our Father Who is in heaven, hallowed (kept holy) be Your name.
Your kingdom come, Your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven…” ( Matthew 6:9,10. Amplified version).

But wait a minute – there may have been a stinging blow upon your life – not to everybody’s life, but to yours! Don’t you just naturally wonder,
“Where is God?” “Certainly my way is hidden from the LORD.”(Is. 40:27).
And you come to your Father over and over again, and your prayer may look like Psalm 6 perhaps, I know mine does:

“O LORD, do not rebuke me in Your anger;
Nor chasten me in Your hot displeasure.
Have mercy on me, O LORD, for I am weak;
O LORD, heal me for my bones are troubled.
My soul also is greatly troubled;
But You, O LORD – how long?”Ps. 6:1-3.

Obviously Ps. 6 was written by someone seeking the LORD.
And this child of God is weak, and troubled in a physical and emotional way. And it looks to me from this Psalm that this has been going on for some time; “how long?”.

Obviously this child of God seeks his Father. But what is going on? Could it be that
“The hand of the Lord has wrought this.” Job 12:9.

Does the blow that you have received seem like a blaring mistake? Certainly the Father God knows what is going on? And God speaks to you and to me,

“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10.

But so much of the time I am fretful. I ‘try’ to be still.I “try” to pray. But there is a voice inside of me that keeps repeating, “I cannot rest.” “I cannot rest until this…,” or “I cannot rest until that…” The battle is fierce, and it almost ‘feels’ like it has been lost. Have you ever been there? Maybe you are there right now.

It is a time of ’emptiness’, but the Lord is there. And you and I know that because He himself has said, “Never will I leave you.”

But Jesus said, “your Father knows the things you have need of before you ask Him.” Matthew 6:8.
There is a story in the Bible that is exactly this picture – Emptiness, but the Lord.

There is a woman who has suffered loss through death, and had many trials mounting, so in 2 Kings 4, we see a widower with 2 sons thrown in a panic because “the creditor is coming!”
So Elisha, (the prophet of God,one who receives God’s word), said to her,
“What shall I do for you?” 2 Kings 4:2.
Why is this verse in the Bible? Shouldn’t the Prophet know already? Maybe it was because Elisha had nothing physically to help her, but he had the LORD and he had the word of God.
And if it is true that “faith comes by hearing and hearing by the word of God,” Romans 10:17 then Elisha had faith!

So he asks the woman, “Tell me, what do you have in the house?”
And she said, “Your maidservant has nothing in the house but a jar of oil.”2Kings 4:2.

Oil in the Bible represents the Holy Spirit. The third person of the trinity. So she has Nothing + the Holy Spirit. She has nothing, BUT God.

Is that where God has you and me? It is the same picture, just different circumstances, basically there was loss, then difficulty and trouble, and the creditor is coming (!) and that brings fear – but she has the Lord! (So much for the prosperity teachings!)
Now what? Back to the story:
“Then he said, “Go, borrow vessels from everywhere, from all your neighbors -empty vessels; do not gather just a few.
“And when you have come in, you shall shut the door behind you and your sons; then pour it into all those vessels, and set aside the full ones.”
So she went from him and shut the door behind her and her sons, who brought the vessels to her, and she poured it out.
Now it came to pass, when the vessels were full, that she said to her son, “bring me another vessel.” And he said to her, “There is not another vessel.” So the oil ceased.
then she came and told the man of God. And he said,
“Go,sell the oil and pay your debt; and you and your sons live on the rest.”2Kings4:3-7.

God’s ways are unthinkable!

Those boys and that woman witnessed a miracle. the vessels were emptied and God filled them. the oil didn’t run out until there were no more vessels.

What if that woman was OK as a widower making it all work on her own? We would never have this story to speak volumes to us today.

Could it be
that God will use our poverty to actually be our riches?
Could it be
that God will use our weakness to actually be our strength?
Could He possibly use our humbling
in due time as exaltation?

We think He has missed things in our lives, that there is no way He can work ‘this’ together for good.
No more weeping over empty jars, because TODAY we can see through this story that the Father knows what He is doing.

His math is just different than ours:
Nothing + God = EVERYTHING!

So we skip ahead to Psalm 9 and now our prayer looks like this:
“I will praise You, O LORD, with my whole heart;
I will tell of all YOur marvelous works.
I will be glad and rejoice in You;
I will sing praise to Your name, O Most High.”

Amen, Amen, Amen, Oooooo Amen, Amen, Amen!
(The children will understand the ‘Amens!’)

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

2 thoughts on ““For your Father knows…””

  1. As I read this, and was reminded that the oil represents the Holy Spirit, I had another thought. What if the “empty vessels” rep. others who are empty without God and finding them and having God fill them with His Spirit? Seems like it could be an evangelistic passage as well. When we do as He commands, He provides our needs?

    1. Lisa, thank you so much for commenting! As I was thinking about those empty vessels all day yesterday, that is what I was thinking as well! Isn’t that so wonderful?! use what you have,(we’re all a bunch of empty jars!) and gather as many as you can find and bring them in and ‘shut the doors’ (I thought about that quiet, private time of wholehearted prayer and communion,) and then the filling!God’s work totally. When we do as He commands, He provides our needs! Amen. hmmm, I have a house full of children and obedience is not always the easiest thing!! haha!Lord have mercy on us- Help us ‘trust and obey!’

Leave a Reply

