God speaks in the darkness…

“Whatever I tell you in the dark”…”speak in the light.” Matthew 10:27.

Have you ever felt troubled on every side? Troubled emotionally, troubled physically, and challenged spiritually? A time of great darkness?

Well, Jesus says in the Bible,
“Whatever I tell you in the dark…”

It’s as if, God allows at times for all the light to go dark in our lives – so He can speak.

This is what He has done for me. He allowed darkness, so He could speak. Maybe there was too much ‘self assurance’, maybe there was ‘pride’. Which is so easy in our world because we naturally all aspire to some level of ‘greatness’, and then we tend to elevate ourselves above others.
But, oh, how God’s ways are not like ours.

I can hear the words of Jesus, in Matthew 20:25,26.”You know that the rulers…lord it over them, and those who are great exercise authority over them.
“Yet it shall not be so among you; but whoever desires to become great among you, let him be your servant.”

God’s ways are so unlike our ways, He even says,
“And whoever desires to be first among you, let him be your slave -” Matthew20:27.
For human beings, this is offensive. This is when the word, which is sweeter than honey at times, can really taste bitter in the stomach! And there is a verse in the Bible that speaks just that,
“Take and eat it; (‘the little book’ in the hand of the angel, God’s word) “and it will make your stomach bitter, but it will be as sweet as honey in your mouth.” Revelation 10:9.

Anyway, back to a time of great darkness for me, after my third chemo treatment, when the Lord spoke to me in my heart. In that darkness,
He didn’t rebuke me.

Maybe because it is true what He says, (because He is the Truth), even though we don’t always believe it – but-
He doesn’t see my failures,
He doesn’t see my sin, He doesn’t see anything like I see.

‘God doesn’t see the same way people see, people look at the outside of a person, but the Lord looks at the heart.’ 1 Sam. 16:7.

I had called on His name, I had called on the name of Jesus. I had been made new. My heart was seeking God; Even in weakness, even in doubt and fear, even in my failures, just like the Psalm proclaims:
“My flesh and my heart fail;”Psalm 73:26.

but the truth is,
“But God is the strength of my heart…”
In Him, my heart was cleansed.

But God!

I don’t know how a Holy God does this, but He does. He somehow sees me ‘covered’ in His blood and I am ‘perfectly complete’ in Him.
It doesn’t matter where you’ve been. It doesn’t matter what you’ve done, it doesn’t matter if you have failed over and over again…

“Whatever I tell you in the dark…”He knows there’s darkness! – but He is Holy? How does it work?

You see, I am imperfect, but ‘in Him’ I am a new creation. The old has gone, the new has come. 2 Cor. 5:17.
“A bruised reed He will not break,”…Matthew 12:20.
People don’t like ‘bruised reeds!’ They are ‘unfit’. But with God,
“A bruised reed He will not break.”
“And a smoking flax He will not quench…”
So the smoking flax can be very irritating, especially to the eyes, but God…

God does not quench a smoking flax-He breathes on it His breath of life and patiently waits for it to catch fire.

THIS is the kindness and the love of God our Savior toward you and me.
“For His merciful kindness is great toward us…” Ps. 117:2.

So Jesus spoke to me in the dark, not because of any work that I have done – because you and I both know the truth,
“In the past we were foolish people…”Titus 3:3. “We did not obey, we were wrong, and we were slaves to many things our bodies wanted and enjoyed. We lived doing evil and being jealous. People hated us and we hated each other.”
“But then the kindness and love of God our Savior was shown…”Titus 3:4.

So, WHAT DID HE SAY? You ask!

I have written these words before, and I will write them again,
He spoke to my heart,
“Not all know Me…
Not all know Me,
as their King. They pray, ‘Your Kingdom come, Your will be done,’…
but they don’t KNOW ME.”

So, that is why I speak in the light:
Know this – God loves.
and even better than this, God loves you.
Call out His name. He will draw near to you-
and wash you clean. Once for salvation,
daily and moment by moment for a bath from the constant filthiness from living in this world!

“He saved us because of His mercy,
not because of the good deeds we did to be right with God. He saved us through the washing that made us new people. He saved us by making us new through the Holy Spirit. God poured out to us that Holy Spirit fully through
Jesus Christ our Savior.”Titus 3:5-7.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

