Moments of momhood: “This is NOT my calling!”

If you have ever been involved in Children’s ministry at a church, you might have proclaimed, “This is not my calling!” However, when I became a mom, there were many moments when I cried out to God, “This is NOT my calling!”

For some reason, He just looked silently down at me with a smile. What’s with that?!

There was no exit door! So in needing assistance, in the early years of mommyhood, god spoke quite clear to me, He said,
Toni, this is what you must do, and “this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you:”
“Rejoice always,
pray without ceasing,
in everything give thanks.” 1 Thessalonians 5:17,18.

So, now as the years of mommyhood continue to fly by and become simply ‘momhood’
I feel I need a whole new word from God. Am I alone in this?
So, desperately needing assistance, I looked to the Lord, because His word tells us,
“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go;
I will guide you with My eye.” Psalm 32:8.

And He showed me – and He guided me, right to Micah 6:8,
“He has shown you, O man,

(but for me, it was O mom!) what is good;
And what the Lord requires of you
But to do justly,
To love mercy,
And to walk humbly with your God.”

What is good? And what does the Lord require of me?
“But to do justly…”

Personally, I don’t understand fully why the word ‘But’ to do justly, is there.
Does that mean if others are doing this, and others are doing that, I’m to look at the Lord,
“But to do justly”?
So I think of ‘justly’ and I think of righteous – and then I remember,
Yes, the 23rd Psalm, the very familiar prayer of David,
“Lead me in paths of righteousness”

“Why Lord?”
“For My Name’s sake”, that’s why.
They are watching you! The older children may not listen to you, BUT they are watching you, all the time!

No ‘Buts’ about it! The instruction is clear, “He has shown you, O (moms), what is good, and what He requires of you, “But to do justly”!

“See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools,but as wise, redeeming the time, for the days are evil.” Eph. 5:15,16.

But that is not all He said, He said to “love mercy.
That means that I am to look to the Lord to do what is right for His name’s sake, but not expect anyone else to do that – to love mercy!

“To love mercy And to walk humbly with your God.”
Well, I think the natural tendency is to ‘do justly’ and expect everyone else to ‘do justly’ as well! But God has given me assistance, clearly He says,
“But to do justly, And to love mercy!”

Don’t look to people for your example – but we can always look to God and not be disappointed, because He sent His Son, and the fullness of the Godhead is in Jesus-so if you want to see God, look at Jesus. And here He is,
Exodus 34:6,7,
“The LORD, the Lord God, merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abounding in mercy and truth, keeping mercy for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin…”

God is ‘abounding in mercy’. The word abounding reminds me of the Winnie the Pooh Character, ‘Tigger’ – he was always abounding! And God wants me to be abounding in mercy, He instructs and guides in the way that we should go and He says,
“Love mercy.”
And we know that “O how happy, or Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.”
“But to do justly, And to love mercy…love NOT giving others what they deserve! (and that includes our older children!)
However, a general note for moms with young children, there is a time to grant ‘mercy’, but there comes a time when mercy exhausts itself and it is time for ‘justice!’

But in general, God is speaking clearly to me, “Toni, you do ‘justly’ but for others, love mercy and walk humbly with Me, with Your God!”

So, in this walk, we must remember to stay humble.
Paul wrote it well, ‘For I say, “through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think but to think soberly as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith.” Romans 12:3.

This is the time, more than ever that we simply need to pray without ceasing that our children and ourselves ‘hunger and thirst for righteousness,’ for it is then that we will be ‘filled’ the word says.

But now, it is for me and for you to be filled with all the fullness of God by the Holy Spirit so that the love of God can be poured out of our hearts toward our children. That we would be empowered daily
‘to do justly,
and to love mercy
and as we attempt to walk ‘humbly with our God’ we can clearly see that the will of God in Christ Jesus is that we continue to ‘rejoice always,
and of course, to ‘pray without ceasing’ and ‘in everything, give thanks – because momhood IS our calling!

A song? My mom’s song? Yes, the same lullaby, and I can hear the children singing it at Christmas time, “Be near me Lord Jesus, I ask Thee to stay, close by me forever and love me I pray. Bless all the dear children in Thy tender care, and take us to heaven to live with Thee there.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on “Moments of momhood: “This is NOT my calling!””

Leave a Reply

