“When you pass through the waters…”

“When you pass through the waters I will be with you.”

This is the word of the Lord in Isaiah 43:2.

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name; you are Mine.” Isaiah 43:1.

God tells you and me in His word, “Fear not,…you are Mine. When you pass through the waters…”

Through the waters. Not through the puddles, or the stream, or the spring. No, through the waters. And it doesn’t say ‘if’ you pass through the waters, it says, ‘When’.

So when you and I are going through waters that seem like a flood, we have to remember what He says – He says, “I will be with you.”

And He not only says,”I will be with you,” He says, “You are Mine.”

Are you going through the waters? I am, and I am sorry to say that this is how I often think:
“O God – but the waters are deep and rapid and the torrent will sweep me away, I’m afraid.”

His word to me: “I will be with you. We will go through the waters together.
Have you not heard? Has it not been told to you, that ‘when you pass through the waters…and through the rivers, they shall not overflow you. Isaiah 43:2.

My response: “O God, will you carry me?”

He wants me to grow. He wants to develop in me something that is not there. He answers:
“I have carried you in times past, but this time, I would have you to ‘Follow Me.“Do not fear, nor be afraid; Have I not told you from that time, and declared it? You are my witnesses. Is there a God besides Me? Indeed there is no other Rock; I know not one.'”

It doesn’t make sense, but I feel such a struggle to trust the One who is worthy. How can that be? But it is true and the Lord knows it.

He speaks:
“Woe to him who strives with his Maker! Le the potsherd strive with the potsherds of the earth. Shall the clay say to him who forms it, ‘What are you making?’
Or shall your handiwork say, ‘He has no hands’? Is. 45:9.

“Fear not, O Jacob My servant; (I think my name is Jaconi!)
And Jeshurun, whom I have chosen.
For I will pour water on him who is thirsty,
And floods on the dry ground;
I will pour My Spirit on your descendants,
And My blessing on your offspring;
They will spring up among the grass
Like willows by the watercourses.”
“One will say, ‘I am the LORD’s;
Another will call himself by the name of Jacob;
Another will write with his hand, the LORD’s’,
And name himself by the name of Israel.” Is. 44:3-5.

My response:
“This is my comfort in my affliction,
Your word has given me life.”
Increase my faith Lord. Increase my faith. I will follow You. You have Your eyes on Your Father, always, I will fix my eyes on You and try not to cry the whole time. The joy of the Lord is my strength.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

