Oh my! Weeds again in my spiritual garden! I need a hymn!

Oh my! Not again! I thought that I had broken up all of the fallow ground and planted good seed, but where and why are the weeds overtaking so quickly?

We definitely understand this as we plant gardens, but it is for me, unfortunately a look at my spiritual soil as well.  Hebrews 4:9 tells us, “there remains therefore a rest for the people of God.”

That is what I want! Isn’t it true? Isn’t that what we long for, is God’s rest?  Hebrews 4:10 says, “For he who has entered His rest has himself ceased from his works as God did from His.”

What does all this mean? What is ‘resting in Him?’

“O Father, show me how to enter into Your rest at this time. You are the same  yesterday, today and forever – it should not matter what I am going through because Your word says that You, the Creator of the Universe, the Lover of my soul, the Great Shepherd, the El Shaddai is with me!

I am afraid that the soil of my heart is much like my garden.  How the weeds spring up so quickly. The weeds of worry, of discontent, the weeds of fret and fear. And You Lord are also the Master Gardner, and You see it all,

Hebrews 4:13 reminds me of that, ” Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in His sight; but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of Him with whom we have to do.”

And if I am coming short of that rest that God has for me. If I fear anything, THAT is what I must fear! Hebrews 4:1, “Therefore, since a promise remains of entering His rest, let us fear lest any of you seem to come short of it.”

“Father God, You are speaking to my heart from Your word. It says,that those who did not enter Your rest failed to because of unbelief,

Hebrews 4:2, “For indeed the gospel was preached to us as well as to them, but the word which they heard did not profit them, not being mixed with faith in those who heard it…”

So I pray again,  “Increase my faith Lord!”  Are there others with this terrible problem with spiritual weeds!

I have a mentor in my life. He is now with the Lord. My dear Pastor Gary. He was an example of one walking  in God’s rest even amidst chaos and confusion. Many of us that know that his favorite song was Jesus loves me, he was  a Children’s Pastor of a large church,
but I had on an occasion asked him what his favorite hymn was, it was ‘Trust and Obey.’ And since he was an example of one walking in the  rest of God, and he was a man who was truly ‘happy in Jesus’, perhaps thinking on this hymn and chewing on its truths  will help with my continual problem with weeds that I seem to have in my spiritual garden.

Because, isn’t it true that if it is someone’s favorite, then he must have known this hymn real well.

“When we walk with the Lord In the light of His Word, What a glory He sheds on our way! While we do His good will, He abides with us still, And with all who will Trust and Obey.

Trust and Obey, For there’s no other way To be happy in Jesus, But to trust and obey.

“Not a shadow can rise, Not a cloud in the skies, But His smile quickly drives it away! Not a doubt or a fear, Not a sigh nor a tear Can abide while we Trust and Obey.

“But we never can prove The delights of His love Until all on the altar we lay; For the favor He shows And the joy He bestows Are for them who will Trust and Obey.

Trust and Obey, For there’s no other way to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.

“Then in fellowship sweet We will sit at His feet, Or we’ll walk by His side in the way; What He says we will do, Where He sends we will go, Never fear, only trust and obey.

It is beautiful how this man still lives in my heart and I am sure in the heart of many others. And his walk of ‘rest in God’ and his testimony of being ‘happy in Jesus’ will always spur me on to do the same.

Who would have thought that keeping a song on our heart would get rid of those terrible weeds!

“Lord, help us to trust and obey!’ Just keep us singing. It is so much better than fretting, that only causes harm. Let us now ‘fear fretting’ and walk in that rest that God has for His people, that we trust and obey.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

