oh, how a mama hurts when her child hurts…

Oh, how a mama hurts when her child hurts.

And sometimes all a mama can do is pray.

But my heart so longs for my child to know that ‘The Lord is on your side.’

What do I pray even?  Are there words? Maybe that is why we are instructed to speak to one another in songs and hymns because I am simply praying that God will give my child the strength and ability to ‘bear patiently the cross of grief or pain’, and they will be able to once again say, ‘Be Still my Soul’.

Because it is true, sometimes it feels that God’s allows a very ‘thorny path’-but He always ‘leads to a  joyful end.’ He is faithful my child. even though, ‘all now is mysterious’ it shall be bright at last.’ How the only words that help speak to me are the words of a hymn.

‘Just do the next thing’ my dear child.  Your mama is praying that you will always know

that you are never alone. He’s got a hold on you,

may your soul be still when you remember,

you are in His hands.

love,

mama

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

