“Deeper, Deeper in the love of Jesus…”

Do we have opportunity to grow ‘deeper, deeper in the love of Jesus’ in the microwave paced world we live? In this world that seems to be spinning out of control? Do we even know how to ‘Be still’ that we can ‘know that He is God’? (Psalm 46:10.)  The Lord brought me to a hymn from 1900 written by Charles P. Jones this morning,

“Deeper, deeper in the love of Jesus Daily let me go; Higher, higher in the school of wisdom, More of grace to know…”

What does it take for ‘More of grace to know’?

These kinds of prayers are not prayed when everything is ‘sunny’ outside! These are prayers that are prayed in brokenness, in brokenness of heart. Because, it is true,

“In this world you will have tribulation,” John 16:33. Yes, we all agree, in this world there is tribulation, there is great trouble in this world.

But God reminds us, “but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”

“Deeper, deeper blessed Holy Spirit, Take me deeper still, Till my life is wholly lost in Jesus, And His perfect will.”

‘…And His perfect will.’

We all understand this. Don’t we pray this often, if we are accustomed to pray ‘The Lords Prayer’, “Your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.” Matthew 6:10.

But what if His will is allowing huge hardship and pain and trouble? What then? “What then?” you ask.

Well, let’s look at the old hymn! Maybe some writings from the early 1900’s will help direct our thoughts, because isn’t it true that God tells us to not escape our problems with wine, but that we should be filled with the Spirit and speak to one another in Psalms and hymns?

“Deeper, deeper tho’ it cost hard trials, Deeper let me go! Rooted in the holy love of Jesus, Let me fruitful grow.”(Vs. 3 of Deeper, Deeper by Charles P. Jones.) “Deeper, deeper…Till my life is wholly lost in Jesus and His perfect will.” (Vs.2).

Wait a minute! Wasn’t that how you and I prayed to the Lord? Over and over again, didn’t we pray, Lord, that my life would be fruitful,  that I would be in Your perfect will?

So, there is trouble, great anguish of heart and soul and even body!  And even our flesh and our hearts fail.( And now, I will speak for myself, how pitiful I even become in my thoughts and attitude and heart.)

But what does God do? He supernaturally draws each of us, (and me) to Him, ‘Deeper, Deeper in the love of Jesus’.

There are no words that can describe the depth of the love that God pours out! And what He is doing all along is answering our prayer, much like the old hymn, “Deeper, deeper in the love of Jesus Daily let me go;…More of grace to know.”(Vs. 1.)

He pours out His grace and reminds us, once again, that He is in control.  reminding me in His word, Amplified,

“The Lord is [rigidly] righteous in all His ways, and gracious and merciful in all His works.” Psalm 145:17.  I’ve go to trust Him if it ‘looks like’ His ways are not gracious at the moment, even if it looks like He’s not in control.

Maybe, what He wants to show you and me is that,

“The Lord is near to all who call upon Him, to all who call upon Him sincerely and in truth. He will fulfill the desire of those who reverently and worshipfully fear Him, He also will hear their cry, and will save them.” Psalm 145:18,19.

And those who have been through brokenness know that their cry is no longer ‘half-hearted’, this is a ‘whole-hearted’ cry!

Oh, the beauty of the Holy Spirit reminding us of what is true,

“But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Psalm 73:26. Reminding you and me that nothing can  separate me from the love of God! Nothing! Not tribulation, not distresses. Nothing. And who would have thought, but all this trouble has done one thing – it has drawn you and me

‘Deeper, deeper in the love of Jesus,’

And I know others who have severe trouble, yet Jesus has taken them even ‘deeper still’.

And somehow, because God is all powerful, and His light shines so much brighter than our darkness ever could be,  He  pours out a love and a hope like it talks about it Romans 5:5,

“Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.” And this love in turns strengthens us supernaturally, to actually …

sing  His praise, “I will extol You, My God ,O King; and I will bless Your name for ever and ever – with grateful, affectionate praise. Psalm 145:1 Amplified.

“Great is the Lord and highly to be praised, and His greatness is [so vast and deep as to be] unsearchable.” Psalm 145:3.

and then, we pray,

“Deeper, deeper tho’ it cost hard trials, Deeper let me go! rooted in the holy love of Jesus, Le me fruitful grow.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

