Who to call in crisis? This is the call we must make: Jeremiah 33:3.

This is a time when people really don’t know phone numbers! With quick dial, who needs a number? But there is a number that we must all know, and I was reminded of it the other day when I was looking at the digital clock in my car and it read the numbers 333. Immediately my mind remembered Jeremiah 33:3.

“Call unto Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.”

Oh, we have so many calls to make and responsibilities to take care of, but do we ‘call unto God’?

And it is true and we all know this, but when crisis comes, His number is front and center! What sad humans we are, that many of us  wait to call on Him intently until those days come.  But God is so merciful to us, knowing that what we need most in this life is Him,  so he allows, (He doesn’t cause the trouble, (many times we do that!),but because we live in this world, and He loves us so much, He simply allows)…well, you know – He allows trials, even severe sadness and pain. And we don’t understand, and we hurt and we question, which in turn leads us to…

Call upon Him. And He hears our hearts. And He will show us great and might things that we cannot even imagine, if we can simply,(but most certainly, not easily)

surrender to His will. “Your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.” Matthew 6:10. How painful all this is. It is a death within ourselves that must occur.

So, on the day of our complaint, prompted by the Holy Spirit to ‘call unto Him’, You and I don’t even need our own words. They have been written for both you and for me. They were written for us by an unknown psalmist. We simply can make our call to Him:

Psalm 116, ” I LOVE  You LORD, because You hear my voice and my supplications. Because You have inclined Your ear to me,

Therefore I will call upon You as long as I live.

The pains of death encompassed me, And the pangs of Sheol  have laid hold of me; I found trouble and sorrow. But I am calling upon the name of the LORD:

“O LORD, I implore You, deliver my soul!”

Gracious are You LORD, and righteous; Yes,  You O God are merciful. You preserve the simple; I was brought low, and You save me. (I comfort my soul), ‘Return to your rest, O my soul, For the Lord has dealt bountifully with you.’

For You  deliver my soul from death, my eyes from tears, and my feet from falling. I will walk before You O LORD, in the land of the living. I believe,

therefore I speak, “I am greatly afflicted…”What shall I render to the LORD For all His benefits toward me?

I will take up the cup of salvation, And call upon Your name. I will pay my vows to You O LORD, now in the presence of all His people.

Precious in the sight of You, O LORD, is the death of Your saints. O LORD, truly, I am Your servant; I am Your servant…

I will offer to You the sacrifice of thanksgiving, And will call upon  Your name, the name of the LORD.”

And it is as if I hear Your reply in that old Hymn, ‘Does Jesus Care’, by Frank E. Graeff,  but I’m hearing You respond from Your very own lips,

“Do I care, when your heart is pained too deeply for mirth and song; As the burdens press and the cares distress, and the way grows weary and long? O yes, I care, My heart is touched with your grief, when the days are weary, the long nights dreary, I, who am your Savior, I care.”

“Do I care when  you’ve tried and failed to resist some temptation strong? When for your deep grief you find no relief, though your tears flow all the night long? O yes, I care. My heart is touched with your grief, when the days are weary, the long nights dreary, I who am your Savior, I care.”

“Do I care when you’ve said good-bye to the  dearest on earth to you? When your sad heart aches, ’till it nearly breaks, is it aught to Me? Do I see?  O yes, I care. My heart is touched with your grief, when the days are weary, the long nights dreary, I, who am your Savior, I care.”

What a call worth making! Calling unto God. And because it was made, we know He hears, He knows, and yes, He cares!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

