“…having the eyes of our hearts flooded with light,”

“Lord, may the eyes of our heart be flooded with light, so that we can know and understand the hope that we can have in You.”

It’s as if there is a door that has been closed because of the Law and Commandments – they are just too hard to keep. But the ‘law was to be our tutor, (our guide, our trainer),to bring us to Christ.The Law is not to make us cower and run from God – it is to draw us to Him and show us how we so desperately need a Savior! Oh, how we miss the mark; yesterday we did, today we will and who knows all the trouble we will find ourselves in tomorrow. Oh how we sin. You and I, we need a Savior!

And Savior He is. He is the one who has fulfilled the Law. “Jesus Paid it All!” the hymn proclaims. I can’t pay my debt, He did! Paid in full. “sin had left a crimson stain,” the hymn honestly proclaims about each and every one of us, but “He washed it white as snow!”

that is why we sing “Amazing grace how sweet the sound,” because of His love and grace alone – not through any work on my part, my zeal for God, my prayers, my service to Him ,none of that – simply because God is love, and He loves you and He loves me and He laid down His life for us,

even while we were sinners! ‘Amazing grace how sweet the sound that save a wretch like me!’

How do we simply say, “I love You Jesus?”

It is because we come to realize, “because  He first loved me!”

And we can hide ourselves in Him, as another hymn sings, because He is our ‘Rock of Ages’, He is a ‘cleft for me’ , yes, let me ‘hide myself in Thee.’

He doesn’t have His arms crossed tight in front of His chest and an angry frown on His face – that is not our God the Father. When we even make a turn in His direction with some kind of willingness to return, He comes running with His arms wide open.

Oh, that we would have the eyes of our hearts flooded with the light of His love and turn always toward Him, and not away.

O, make us worshipers of the One who loves.

Bring us back to simple relationship with You. Not caring about anyone else but You, the One who Loves.

With ‘reckless abandon’ may we all with our broken hearts,because that is what we have from living in this ‘world in which we have tribulation’,  and may we not only have the eyes of our heart opened , but may we hear You call us, because that is what You are doing, You are calling us to Your side, our Father, and may we come.

“Rock of Ages, cleft for me. Let me hide myself in Thee. Let the water and the blood, from thy wounded side which flowed,

Be of sin, the double cure, save from wrath and make me pure!”

It’s the water and the blood, the death of our precious Jesus that has saved us from all of the wrath of missing the Law and has made us pure! “Father, draw the children to Your love. Draw us, Your children to Your love!”

God the Father loves each and every person on this earth, so much so that He gave what was most precious to Him, His one and only Son, Jesus Christ.

May we pray,“Let me hide myself in Thee.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

