I’ve failed. But God never gives up on me, (or you), ever…

It says about our Jesus that,

“A bruised reed He will not break. And a smoking flax He will not quench, or snuff out.”

Let the facts be known, in case anyone thinks that because I write about Bible verses that I always walk in faith.

Please know, it is because I am most bent to make ‘flesh out’ choices that I so desperately need the word of God – and THAT is why I write the word! ‘Prone to sin’ as the children of Israel were under Moses’s leadership, is this child of God the Father, who’s Son paid my debt in full, and has given me the Holy Spirit to guide me into all truth.

Yesterday, I pushed the panic button. Yesterday, I resorted to thoughts of, “I can’t take this anymore.” “I can’t do this,” etc. I am not sure that you can even relate, but if you can – I share with you, once again,

the love of God.

“Wait, first you talk about ‘giving up on life’ and then you talk about the love of God?” thinking I talk in circles.

Yes, because I am a bruised reed. I am not perfect. I have been bruised and messed up. But Jesus doesn’t pick me up and say, “This one is good for nothing,” and then proceed to break it. No, He takes it and wraps it and mends it, and hopes for it. And in my pitiful  situation, today, He comforts me with His word.

And because I can’t handle all the things that life throws my way, and I grow weary and discouraged and even despair of life many times over, kind of like a ‘smoking flax’, one that isn’t in a great flame – He, my Jesus, He doesn’t just snuff me out and say, “This one will never amount to anything, this flax won’t burn bright.”  “…And smoking flax He will not quench.” Is. 42:3.

So, in my weakness and failure, the Lord picks me up, the ‘smoking flax’ that I am, and He blows His breath of life on me to rekindle hope.

And, this morning, the Holy Spirit  brought me to the very first Psalm. I’m thinking,” bring me somewhere ‘easy’ Lord, just sing over me somehow. Psalm 1 sounds good.”

Psalm 1, Amplified, “BLESSED -happy, fortunate, prosperous and enviable – is the man who walks and lives not in the counsel of the ungodly [following their advise, their plans and purposes], (but God, there are billboards, and social media, and Universities, and music, and movies that are always counseling!) not stands [submissive and inactive] in the path where sinners walk,( but, Lord, the two roads – the choice to flesh out or the choice to follow a spirit of faith – one is so easy and the other so hard), nor sits down [to relax and rest] where the scornful [and the mockers] gather.” (This is the temptation to simply give up and complain about it all and ‘sleep’ it off.)

But the Lord knows that I want to be happy, and instead of giving up after reading 2 verses,  He kept my eye on the page to read the next few verses,

“But his delight and desire are in the law of the Lord, and on His law -the precepts, the instruction, the teachings of God – he habitually meditates (ponders and studies) by day and by night.”

He wooed me and said, “Look to me and be saved. Remember, I am Your Savior, not your bank account or your doctor, or your many ‘counselors’ throughout the day. Trust Me.”

“And he shall be like a tree firmly planted [and tended] by the streams of water, ready to bring forth his fruit in its season; his leaf also shall not fade or wither, and everything he does shall prosper [and come to maturity].

Do you think God can take my ‘bruised reed’ and make it like a tree?

He is my only hope. He is my all in all. ‘This is my comfort in my affliction, Your word has given me life,’ Ps. 119:50 says. I am absolutely a failure, but with God He can even do something with a failure. He breathes His word into our weak and bruised and ‘faithless’ moments, and He brings hope, and He increases our faith,

but best of all, He caresses us with His love. “Jesus loves me this I know, for the Bible tells me so. Little ones to Him belong; They are weak, but He is strong. Yes, Jesus loves me. Yes, Jesus loves me! Yes, Jesus loves me, the Bible tells me so.”

“Jesus loves me! Loves me still, Tho’ I’m very weak and ill; That I might from sin be free, Bled and died upon the tree…”

“Jesus loves me! He who died. Heaven’s gates to open wide; He will wash away my sin, Let His little child come in…”

“Jesus loves me! He will stay, Close beside me all the way; Thou hast bled and died for me, I will hence-forth live for Thee. Yes, Jesus loves me! Yes, Jesus loves me. Yes, Jesus loves me. 

The Bible tells me so!”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on “I’ve failed. But God never gives up on me, (or you), ever…”

Leave a Reply

