You are my hiding place, You fill my heart with songs of deliverance…

Perfect love casts out fear. 1 John 4:18.   So why do we fear? What is it with fear? It seems to hide in the bushes and then it comes out  like a lion, prowling around, ‘seeking whom he may devour’! And we find ourselves out in the open – how we need a hiding place!

Do you know what I am talking about?  You and I are in need of a hiding place, a place of refuge. And it can be found, in God’s word, Ps. 32:7, You are my hiding place;  You shall preserve me from trouble; You shall surround me with songs of deliverance. Selah. Yes, this was a psalm of David. And God has used David through the Psalms to teach us to pray and sing,

so we pray, “God, be my hiding place. Surround me with songs, songs of deliverance.”

And there is an old song that was written to sing this truth, “You are my hiding place. /You always fill my heart with songs of deliverance, whenever I am afraid,/ I will trust in You. /I will trust in You./ Let the weak say, “I, am strong in the strength of my Lord.”

But God has included as psalm writers in the Bible, the sons of Korah. In Psalm 44, they began their psalm with remembering Gods works and how He drove out the enemy with His right hand. And then they proceeded to proclaim Him as their King, “My God, you are my King. Your commands led Jacob’s people to victory. With Your help we pushed back our enemies. In Your name, we walked on those who came against us.” Ps. 44:4,5. The sons of Korah even made vows to the Lord, ” You saved us from Egypt. You made our enemies ashamed.” “We will praise God every day. We will praise Your name forever. Psalm 44:7,8.

But look at what they wrote further on, in the same psalm, (!) they certainly were not ‘singing when the evening came’:

“Wake up , Lord! Why are You sleeping? Get up! Don’t reject us forever. Why are You hidden from us? Have You forgotten our pain and troubles? We have been pushed down into the dirt. We are flat on the ground. Get up and help us. because of Your love, save us.” Psalm 44:23-26.

Do you ever feel this way? Perhaps, even today, this may be your cry. I know that it is mine. But God showed me something so incredible in this Psalm today. You see, their trouble is recorded. It’s all written down, and you and I can really relate to it in many ways. The sons of Korah are suffering, and they cry out,

“But You rejected us and shamed us. You don’t march with our armies anymore. You let our enemies push us back. Our enemies have taken our wealth. You gave us away like sheep to be eaten. You scattered us among the nations. You sold Your people for nothing. You made no profit on the sale. You made us a joke to the other nations. People shake their heads. I am always in disgrace. I am covered with shame. My enemy is getting even with insults and curses.

All these things have happened to us, but we have not forgotten You. We have kept our agreement with You. Our hearts haven’t turned away from You. We haven’t stopped following You. But You crushed us in this place where wild dogs live. You covered us with deep darkness. We did not forget our God…”Ps. 44:9-20.

Great trouble came about for these sons of Korah, but even bigger than their trouble and even bigger than mine, or yours at this time,

is… our Jesus.

He knows. His experience on the cross is recorded for us, it is not a fable, He was a man, and He suffered, “But I am a worm, and no man; A reproach of men, and despised of the people. All those who see Me laugh Me to scorn; they shoot out the lip, they shake the head…”

“Be not far from Me, For trouble is near; For there is none to help. Many bulls have surrounded Me; Strong bulls … they gape at Me with their mouths, As a raging and roaring lion. I am poured out like water,

And all My bones are out of joint; My heart is like wax; It has melted within Me. My strength is dried up like a potsherd, And My tongue clings to My jaws; You have brought Me to the dust of  death..”

This is our Jesus. He knows we are suffering, and He knows how hard it is, because He ‘bore our griefs,’ our sicknesses, He bore our weaknesses, He bore our distresses, He even carried our sorrows and our pain and even our punishment, all on the cross, because He was willing and His heart is full of love for us.

Our Jesus, He  knew  that you and I need  peace.

With the stripes that wounded Him,  we are  made whole.

“You,  Jesus, are my hiding place, You always fill my heart with songs of deliverance whenever I am afraid.

So, we cry like the sons of Korah did at times, but Jesus – You KNOW, and YOU are a refuge for us.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

