“For in the time of trouble…” Ps. 27:5.

Do we know trouble? Are we humans living in this broken world? Yes, we all know trouble.

But what does the psalmist, (David to be exact) have to say about ‘in the time of trouble’? God has me thinking on Psalm 27. I think God is breaking up some more ‘fallow’ ground filled with rocks and debris hoping to get more fruit, more ‘faith’ fruit in me. So I continue to meditate and ‘chew’ on Psalm 27, again…

“For in the time of trouble He shall hide me in His pavilion; In the secret place of His tabernacle He shall hide me; He shall set me high upon a rock.” Ps. 27:5.

So, is this what David was thinking “when the wicked came against me to eat up my flesh, My enemies and foes, …” Psalm 27:2.

God gave us choice, and we have a choice to make when trouble comes; we can run away in a panic,or sit and be depressed,  or we can run into the arms of God. Oh, how tempting it is to panic and try to figure it all out on our own, and to get down about all that is going on,  I know, I go there all the time. But God wants me to learn something and really get it this time.

It seems to me that during this time of trouble, David might have been running, but…

he was running right into the arms of God, so that God could hide him in the secret place of His tabernacle.

“For in the time of trouble...” David, the psalmist proclaimed, “Though an army should encamp against me, My heart shall not fear;” Psalm 27:3.

It makes sense to me now – how could David be afraid when the One who laid the foundations of the earth, and even determined its measurement and even laid its cornerstone,(Job 38:4,5), had a hold on him? How could David be afraid when the One who commands the morning and causes dawn to know its place has him in His arms.

And, of course, even if David could say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,” Even the night shall be light about me,’Psalm 139:11, because if Jesus is ‘the light of the world.’ and when ‘light of the world has a hold on him, then ‘the night shines even as the day’! (Psalm 139:12) Only Jesus can make the night shine even as the day.

And isn’t it true that when you are holding a young child close, in your arms, he or she looks right into your face, into your eyes.

Kids, we might not know the outcome of some extreme stress we might be under  right now,

but you and I have today, and I want the same heart as David ‘in the time of trouble’.  He had a single heart – he only had one desire, and that was to ‘dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of his life,’

“One thing I have desired of the LORD that will I see: That I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life.” Psalm 27:4.

I think David must have thought a lot about this ‘house of the LORD’ because  it was his hiding place.  I think I am going to make the choice to dwell in this same house,

today and hopefully all the days of my life, (and I think that means a lot of days because, didn’t Jesus tell us our days would last forever if we believe in Him?)

And also,  I think he, (David, the psalmist) had mentioned  this ‘house of the LORD’ before; didn’t he once say that ‘surely goodness and mercy shall follow you’ there? (Psalm 23).

I choose to have one desire, but first I am going to run into the arms of the One who loves me  Most, and look into His wonderful face, and find for myself that goodness and mercy will follow me,  and as I hide out in His pavilion, the house of the LORD,

“I will sing, yes, I will  sing praises to the LORD.” Ps. 27:6.

Thank you Lord for Psalm 27 to help me change my mind from choosing panic and depression and fear!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

