“You did not choose Me, but I chose you.” John 15:16.

“You did not choose Me, but I chose you…”John15:16. These are words of comfort. I’ve been thinking of them a lot. Thankful that the Holy Spirit reminds us of them. Thankful that Jesus spoke them. Thankful for the Father who always knows what His children need.

God the  Father initiates everything and He speaks to His children in His Story Book so to speak, (because that is what much of the  Old Testament and even the New Testament is – stories). When I think of this verse, “You did not choose Me, but I chose you,” it makes me think of some of the stories.

I’m thinking of the story of Moses, when he was 40 years in the wilderness, (being in the wilderness for  4 days is a trial, and for some 4 weeks,  and for others 4 years – but 40 years!) and he, (Moses) turns aside to see a burning bush which is not  consumed by the fire. (Exodus 3).“And when the Lord saw that he (Moses) turned aside to see, God called to him out of the midst of the bush and said, “Moses, Moses!” And he said, “Here am I.”

I love the fact that God called Moses by name. And He gave  him a job basically, “Come now therefore and I will send you to Pharaoh and bring the Israelites out of Egypt.” Exodus 3:10.

Moses’ response?

“Who am I…?” Ex. 3:11.

But God answers Moses, “I will surely be with you;”Ex. 3:2.

“I will surely be with you.” God the Father knows what His children need.

And what about the story about Joshua after Moses had died and God called Joshua and said, “So now arise, [take his place], go over the Jordan, you and all this people…” God must have known Joshua needed encouragement, because He tells him, “…As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I will not fail you or forsake you.”Joshua 1:5.

It’s those same words again. These are the words of our Father to us. “I will be with you; I will not fail you or forsake you.”

And what about the story of Gideon? He was not courageous or powerful and yet God called him to deliver the Israelites from the Mideonites. Remember his words to God, “Oh Lord, how can I deliver Israel? Behold , my clan is the poorest…and I am the least in my father’s house.” Judges 6:15, Amplified.

BUT  GOD! Do you remember how the Lord responded? Much like a father to a son, “Surely I will be with you, and you shall smite the Midianites as one man.” Judges 6:16, Amplified.

“Father, today your children need comfort. We each are ‘homesick’. Thank you for the stories. They help change our fear to faith,

“So we may boldly say:

‘The LORD is my helper; I will not fear. What can man do to me?’ Hebrews 13:6. And Father, just because your children forget sometimes, can you keep reminding us,

“You did not choose Me, but I chose you.”

To think, that none of us really make the decision for God, it all starts with Him. God, the Father so loved the world that He sent Jesus to be with us, and not only that, to die on the cross for all of our sin, and He gave us His Holy Spirit so we will never be alone, ever. We are not alone, He is always with us,

“for He (God) Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you not give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will not] in any degree leave you helpless, nor forsake not let [you] down, [relax my hold on you]. – Assuredly not!.” Hebrews 13:5.(Amplified).

“So we take comfort and are encouraged and confidently and boldly say,

The Lord is my helper, I will not be seized with alarm – I will not fear or dread or be terrified. What can man do to me? (Heb. 13:6).

And God shows us this is true through the stories. The stories of Moses, of Joshua, of Gideon which all point to the love of the Father to His children – ‘for God so loved the world…’

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

