“And we know…”

What is it that we know?

Could it be that we know Jeremiah’s cry of despair,

“I am the man who has seen affliction…He has led me and made me walk in darkness and not in light. Surely He has turned His hand against me time and time again throughout the day.” Jer. 3:1-3.

Could it be that we are in a place where we just don’t understand what God is doing? Jeremiah said it all for us,

“He has hedged me in so that I cannot get out; He has made my chain heavy. Even when I cry and shout, He shuts out my prayer. He has blocked my ways with hewn stone; He has made my paths crooked.” Jer. 3:77-9.

Yes, the words are written, and we know what they say. For many of us, they say what

we KNOW, “You have moved my soul far from peace; I have forgotten prosperity. And I said, “My strength and my hope have perished from the LORD.” Jer.3:17,18.

But what is amazing,  after Jeremiah talks about the terrible place he is in, (and not just physically, but also emotionally and spiritually), something happens –

He prays.

He prays, “Remember my affliction and roaming, the wormwood and the gall.” Jer. 3:19. (Wasn’t it the gall that they gave Jesus to drink while He was on the cross? Didn’t His heart cry out this same cry to the Father?)

Then something happens in his mind, (Jeremiah that is), something that the Spirit of God did, (because His main job is to ‘remind’ us of the Truth).

Jeremiah remembers,

 “My soul still remembers and sinks within me. This I recall to my mind, Therefore I have hope.” Jer. 3:21.

Yes, some of us KNOW the same desperation that Jeremiah felt, but he cried out to God, “Remember me God!” And with his next breath he says, (in my words)

‘but I remember…I think again, and have hope.”

What was he thinking?

“Through the LORD’s mercies we are not consumed, Because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness. “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I hope in Him!” Jer. 3:22-24.

This is what we need to KNOW – today. THIS is what his ‘soul remembered and sank down within him so that he could have hope, and this is what our soul must remember and we must let it sink down within us so we can have hope.
Jeremiah is changed, yet nothing in his situation is changed. Now, instead of saying, “My strength and my hope have perished from the LORD.” (vs. 18), he says,

“The LORD is good to those who wait for Him, To the soul who seeks Him.” Jer. 3:25.

“For the Lord will not cast off forever. Though He causes grief, Yet He will show compassion according to the multitude of His mercies.” Jer. 3:31,32.

And we know, that the Lord is good all the time. Today, we go forth with  joy that is deep within us-

we can have the ‘joy of the Lord’ because we can recall what is true and once again have…

hope, because we KNOW that GREAT is His faithfulness.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on ““And we know…””

Leave a Reply

