At night, I heard the lies, “God’s not for you.” But in the morning…

The truth speaks to me personally.

These are very difficult days for everyone. What are we to do?

If you were to open your Bible and read Psalm 62:8, it seems to have some answers. “Trust in Him at all times, you people; Pour out your heart before Him; God is a refuge for us. Selah.”

There is a story in the Bible about a young woman who was unable to have children, her name was Hannah. Remember Hannah who went to the temple to pray before the LORD, and Eli watched her and thought she was drunk. but she said to him,

“No, my lord, I am a woman of sorrowful spirit. I have drunk neither wine nor intoxicating drink, but have poured out my soul before the LORD.” 1 Sam. 1:15.

Is this how you feel lately, of sorrowful spirit. Crying, pouring out your soul before the LORD? I know that I do. Especially after hearing lies like, “God’s not on your side, things just WON’T work out. You will ALWAYS be in this place. NOTHING will ever change, Never.” these are the lies of the enemy! They are not true.

So what is truth?

Do you remember what happened next in the story of Hannah?

“Then Eli answered and said, “Go in peace, and the God of Israel grant your petition which you have asked of Him.” 1Sam. 1:17.”And she said, ‘Let your maidservant find favor in your sight.” So the woman went her way and ate, and her face was no longer sad.'” 1 Sam 1:18.

She ‘went her way and ate, and her face was no longer sad.’ And we know, that the prophet Samuel was born.

This is a picture of what it is to trust. This is a picture of someone willing to ‘wait on the Lord’. The priest said to her, “Go in peace, and the God of Israel grant your petition which you have asked of Him.” And she did.

But, back to the Psalmist in Psalm 62, (who happens to be David), he wrote,“God has spoken once, Twice I have heard this; That power belongs to God.” Ps. 62:11.

Well, today, for me, God has spoken ‘once’, through that  Old Testament story of Hannah ‘pouring out her heart before Him’, and receiving a touch from the Lord, that she was able to go her way and eat and no longer have sorrow.

But He has spoken  twice, because He Himself has spoken to me, this morning, when the Holy Spirit spoke to my soul when I woke, He said,

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11.

That is a verse that at times, I have trouble believing for me. But that is what God has spoken to me today.

My prayer today:  “Lord, let me be like Hannah today. One who receives what you have given me. Truth and encouragement. Help me to ‘trust in You at all times’, (the good times, the bad times, the uncertain times), and continue to pour out my heart before You. Because You are a refuge for us.

You have spoken Lord, in the stories, You have spoken to my soul, “God has spoken once, Twice I have heard this: That power belongs to God.”Ps. 62:11.

Teach me to trust… and I can hear you remind me, “Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:11,12,13.

And I can go today with my face no longer sad, because I have heard that, ‘power belongs to God.’

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

