“Give me the remedy my Great Physician.”

OK, truth be known,since the Bible teaches us to ‘set our minds on things above, not on things of the earth’ (Col 32); the Lord has taught me how to go to the ‘chimney top’ so to speak (from the song ‘Somewhere over the rainbow,you know, where troubles melt like lemon drops way up on the chimney tops), and ‘though the fig tree may not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines; and though the labor of the olive my fail, and the fields yield no food, (Hab.3:17) God has put a song on my heart, thus, in spite of all of the trouble or loss, ‘yet I will rejoice in the LORD.’ (Hab. 3:17).

But something happens, when I come down from the ‘chimney top’ and look reality square in the face and project the troubles that will occur tomorrow because of the reality of the today – and – I have dialogue with the Lord:

“God, give me the remedy for my  weary and anxious heart. My Great Physician, I’ve made an appointment of prayer to You. O God, what is the remedy to life in this world, in which You told us beforehand that there would be tribulation. Speak to me Lord, Your servant is listening.”

the Lord speaks: “The remedy my dear one is Me. I am more than health, and money in the bank, I am more than all of those things.  I AM with you, and I love you, when you run to Me and stay in My presence you will have fullness of joy and peace, even in the worst of circumstances.  I am you peace. Can that be enough?”

My broken heart: “Lord, I so much want that to be enough. But I think I would rather fret instead. The problems are staring me in the face and I don’t have the willingness to look above them, to try to see Your eyes.

But I know that’s what set Noah apart from everyone else in that day. The word said, “But Noah found grace in the eyes of the LORD.” Gen. 6:8. 

The day he lived in was probably much like our day, (without the technology of course). The word says that “the earth was corrupt before God, and the earth was filled with violence,”(Gen. 6:11), Yes, pretty much the same as it is now.

‘But Noah found grace in the eyes of the LORD.’ I am looking up, please pour out more and more grace. I need Your help.”

My patient Lord speaks: ” I will speak My gracious truth to you,“There is hope in your future.” (Jeremiah 31:17),”I know the thoughts that I think toward you, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.”( Jeremiah 29:11),
“Obey My voice, and I will be your God, and you shall be my people. And walk in all the ways that I have commanded you, that it may be well with you.” (Jeremiah 7:23).

My fearful heart: “But Lord, that is the problem, I don’t always obey Your voice. Is there any hope for me?”

My loving Savior: “Do you remember the words of the greatest prophet of all, John the Baptist? He spoke one word that leads to freedom, “Repent!” Just turn around. And do you know My words penned by John in 1John 1:9, “If you confess your sins, I am faithful and just to forgive you your sins and to cleanse you from all unrighteousness.” Remember, I have paid your debt in full. It is through me that you have forgiveness of sins, always.  Can you trust me to cleanse you. “It is finished!”(John 19:30). Are you willing to give me your anxious heart or would you like to keep it for yourself? Can you trust me with your failures?

My fearful heart: “But what if I fail? What if I continue to fear and fret and not trust?

My Strong Savior: “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10.

and remember, that “even though you walk through the valley of the shadow of death, you need not fear any evil, for I am with you.”Ps. 23:4.

You know these things. Are they enough to keep your eyes on mine?”

My response:”I don’t even know what I need.”

My Jesus: “The Spirit of the LORD is upon Me, because He has  anointed Me to preach the gospel to the poor; He has sent Me to heal the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives and recovery of sight to the blind, to set at liberty those who are oppressed. ” (Luke 4:18). You need Me.”

Somehow, calmed and quieted, “So, You are my remedy. OK, even though this minute, nothing in my situation has changed, I am once again changed. I can now say, “I sought the LORD, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.” Ps. 34:4. How do I keep from being afraid again?

My Savior: “Set your mind on things above, not on things on the earth, for you died and your life is hidden with Christ in God.” (Col. 3:2). While you go about your busy day, set you mind on Me, yes, ‘where troubles melt like lemon drops’, and find a song to hide in your heart that speaks of Me,  that sets you right back on the chimney top. Because ‘in My presence is fullness of joy!’

Me: “So what’s the Remedy?”

Jesus: “It’s not ‘what’, it’s Who, the Remedy is Me!”

Me: OK, I will receive my Remedy!

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

