Rx for a stressed and anxious attitude -a hymn book?

Continually, I find myself struggling with an anxious and negative attitude. How anyone can wake up first thing in the morning with thoughts of dismay and alarm is beyond me, but it’s not beyond me, it’s part of me. But then I remember, and think to myself, “this is a battle, I’m in a battle!”  The first sound that comes out of me is “Ugh”. (I am convinced that no one else in the whole word wakes up like this except me.)

That is the alarm that always leads me to pray, “Our Father who art in heaven…Help me!”

Thankfully for me, my husband and everyone else, I get up early to spend time with the Lord.

A little later,  while getting some lunches ready  for the kids to take to school, I notice that I pack something sweet and something salty, because that is what they like.  And then I chuckle when I think of my dear Bette who is suffering in late stages of Alzheimer’s, who doesn’t eat her meals but loves the sweet and the salty snacks. So, with my attitude still struggling and sour, I think of the words to an old hymn,  “Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus, just to take Him at His word…”

I then ponder over this thought, “yes, it’s sweet to trust in Jesus, and His word, is actually much like salt – it protects, it adds flavor, and it preserves. What is my problem, why is it so hard to trust in Jesus? And to take Him at His word?” So, I decide to find the hymn in my hymn book.

I find the right page, but my eye is drawn to the page along side when  I see words like ‘friends untrue’ and ‘dark and drear’, and fierce and bitter’. I begin to read an unfamiliar hymn called ‘Jesus Never Fails’:

“Earthly friends may prove untrue, Doubts and fears assail; One still loves and cares for you. One who will not fail. /Jesus never fails, Jesus never fails; Heav’n and earth may pass away but Jesus never fails.

I began to read on, “Tho’ the sky be dark an drear, Fierce and strong the gale, Just remember He is near, And He will not fail. /Jesus never fails, Jesus never fails; Heav’n and earth may pass away, But Jesus never fails.”

‘Just remember He is near, and He will not fail…’, these words of truth begin to be the sugar on my lemon disposition. “In life’s dark and bitter hour, Love will still prevail;Trust His everlasting pow’r, Jesus will not fail. Jesus never fails, Jesus never fails; Heaven and earth may pass away, But Jesus never fails.”

Could it have been that  ‘Help me!’ prayer, that God  had answered?  He brought to mind ‘Tis so sweet’ through the chores of the morning, which in turn caused me to check it out in the hymn book, which in turn lead me to ‘Jesus Never Fails’, which ultimately sweetened my whole disposition – because ‘tho the sky be dark and drear, fierce and strong the gale’, God reminded me with a little salt’ of truth that ‘He is near and He will not fail.’

Conclusion:  Need some Rx for a stressed and anxious attitude? Try the hymn book, and look for the song, “Tis so Sweet to Trust in Jesus.” It might just have you singing a whole new tune, “Jesus never fail, Jesus never fails; Heaven and earth ma pass away, But Jesus never fails!”

 

 

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on “Rx for a stressed and anxious attitude -a hymn book?”

Leave a Reply

