These must be their words from heaven -the hymn,”Beulah Land”

“I’ve reached the land of joy divine, And all its beauty now is mine, Here shines undimmed one blissful day, For all my night has passed away. O Beulah Land, sweet Beulah Land, As on thy highest mount I stand, I look away across the sea, Where mansions are prepared for me, And view the shining glory shore, My heav’n, my home forever more!”

Everlasting life, in the heavens above; can we hear their words? I believe if we speak in this hymn we can hear their  very heart beat.

These words have been penned by a man named Edgar P. Stites in the hymn Beulah Land. The word ‘Beulah’ is a Hebrew word that means, ‘to marry.’ Beulah land is a land that is loved, Beulah land represents heaven.

And Edgar Stites is quoted about the writing of this hymn, “I could write only two verses and the chorus, when I was overcome and fell on my face. That was one Sunday. On the following Sunday I wrote the third and fourth verses, and again I was so influenced by emotion that I could only pray and weep.” ( excerpt from Then Sings My Soul Book 2, Robert J. Morgan).

“Here shines undimmed one blissful day, For all my night has passed away.”

And for some, ‘night’ was long, and lonely and with great pain. But ‘night’ has passed away, and also death. I remember so wonderfully in a C.H. Spurgeon book, reading these words, ‘Death is the end of all death.’ It’s almost as if that statement needs a ‘Selah’ after it.

“Here shines undimmed one blissful day...” I can almost see it because of the words in Rev. 21:3,

“And I heard a loud voice from heaven saying, ‘Behold the tabernacle of God is with men, and He will dwell with them, and they shall be His people, and God Himself will be with them and be their God.”

Just the words, ‘and God Himself will be with them’ reminds me of a beautiful, blissful wedding day when the bride is joined to her groom. And to think that the meaning of the word ‘Beulah’  is ‘to marry’!

These are the words of their heart now,  “Here shines undimmed one blissful day, For all my night has passed away.”

‘For all my night has passed away!’

And we know this is true. It is written,  “And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying; and there shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.”(Rev. 21:4).

“Then He who sat on the throne said, “Behold, I make all things new.” And He said to me, “Write, for these words are true and faithful.”(Rev. 21:5).

So we think and wonder what heaven is like, and would love to hear what the saints say. But it’s here, it’s written, I am convinced in the hymn called ‘Beulah Land’:

“The Savior comes and walks with me, And sweet communion here have we, He gently leads me with His hand, for this is heaven’s borderland.”

Is this why God wants us to speak in hymns? To brighten up our sad broken hearts. The words lift a spirit that is heavy. They fill an emptiness …

with love. “O Beulah Land, sweet Beulah Land, As on thy highest mount I stand, I look away across the sea, Where mansions are prepared for me, And view the shining glory shore, My heav’n,

my home forever more!”

Verse 3. A sweet perfume upon the breeze, Is borne from ever vrnal trees, And flowers that never fading grow Where streams of life forever flow.

Verse 4. The zephyrs seem to float to me, Sweet sounds of heaven’s melody, As angels, with the white-robed throng, Join in the sweet redemption song. O Beulah Land, sweet Beulah Land, As on  the highest mount I stand, I look away across the sea, Where mansions are prepared for me, And view the shining glory shore, My heav’n, my home forevermore!”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

