What if they never showed me the way ‘home’?

A letter to my children,

I ask myself often, “What if they never showed me the way ‘home’? Where would I be today? And as a mama, I often wonder, have I shown them the way ‘home’? And I don’t just want you all simply to know the way home so you can all get there safely,

no, I have always wanted you to know the way home so that just in case you meet others along the way that aren’t sure – and are lost – you can show them the clear path to home,

just as those that did it for me so many years ago.

You see, I had some friends back when I was in high school who knew that this world was not their home. They knew their Father was preparing a home just for them, (and it was extremely amazing, like a mansion even!) And that He was going to send His Son to come back again to take them to their home to be with their Father.

And they really loved their Father and the Son whom He had sent, but I didn’t even know what they were talking about. I certainly did not know their Father and the Son was just a mystery to me and the way home just seemed way to hard.

All I knew was, there was no place being prepared for me. (Well, now I know that there was, but it was not a home, instead it was a place of torment and pain for all eternity!)

But they really loved their Father.  And that’s what got my attention. So they told me about Him. That He was a King, but not just a King, He was THE King, and His Son was and is and is to come back again to take them to their home. And they told me that He was (and is) the Prince of Peace.

They told me that their Father was merciful. And I thought, “Amazing! You mean that He didn’t give you what you deserved? What Father is like that?” And they told me how gracious their Father was. How He gave favor even when it wasn’t deserved.

And they told me that their Father was  s-l-o-w  t-o  a-n-g-e-r and was full to the brim with loving kindness and truth.

All I knew, was, I did NOT know this Father!

And to me, my friends were like their Father – they were different. they were patient with their family and they were honest. So I asked, “Do you see your Father often?”

And they replied, “Well, no, we’ve never seen our Father, but we see Him in His Son, and we see Him daily.

Well, they saw that I was very confused, so they pooled together to give me a gift of their Father’s very own Love Letter. They told me it was for me and it had all the instructions I needed to know the way ‘home’.

It is in that Love Letter that I learned the Way, ‘home’ was in the Son. That the only way that I could get to the Father’s house was through the Son.

At that moment I realized that I did not have a Father in heaven. I was on my own, with no real home to look forward to. No matter how much I thought I knew God, I realized that there was a huge separation between me and the Father. (Is. 59:2 ‘But your iniquities have separated you and your God.’)

But I didn’t want to be separated from God. If there were many mansions in the Father’s house then I wanted to have a home there too – so I kept reading the Love Letter of the Father that spoke of the Son.

Did you know that because of some friends in High School that loved the Father and worshiped the Son and talked of a home I didn’t know of, and in time gave me the instruction manual on the Way Home  that I entered the Door (John 10) and I received The Way, and The Truth, (John 14:6) and I was given The Life in the Son!

Now He is MY Father. I am His girl. And He is preparing ME a place and Jesus will come back someday and to take me ‘home’ to be with Him forever.

All because some friends loved their Father and showed me The Way – His name is Jesus.

There is an old hymn that explains how there was a time when I was far off, but now I have been brought near by the blood of Jesus, the Son of God,

“Near, so near am I to God, Nearer I cannot be; For, in the person of His Son, I’m just as near as He.Dear, so dear am I to God, Dearer I cannot be; The love with which He loved the Son, Such is His love to me.”

And a child’s song He has given me: “Oh how He loves you and me. Oh how He loves you and me. He gave His life, what more could He give – Oh how He loves you, Oh how He loves me, Oh how He loves you and me…”

and someday, ‘home’ we’ll be!

Ephesians 2:13, “But now in Christ Jesus you who were once  far off have been made near by the blood of Christ.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

