“Let’s forget about ourselves, and magnify the Lord…”

This is an old chorus that is most likely unfamiliar to many, however, the Lord has brought it to my mind day after day after day:

“Let’s forget about ourselves, and magnify the Lord, and worship Him…” And it simply repeats and ends with,  “Let’s forget about ourselves, and magnify the Lord and worship Christ our King. O let’s worship Him, Jesus Christ our Lord.”

So, I’ve been thinking, if we were to be in the presence of a king, we really wouldn’t be worried a lot about ourselves, we would be worried about SEEING him! We would want to be in a good position to SEE him. But what’s amazing about Christ our King, if we have put Him on the throne in our hearts and lives,

we can forget about ourselves, and the Spirit lifts us into new life,( almost like the  glorious love opera found in Song of Solomon), only, it’s real life, and  we find ourselves praying to Him as the maiden in the Song, “Draw me, we will run after thee…,” (Song of Solomon 1:4).

And when you pray prayers like: “Draw me closer Lord, and I will run after Thee.” He does just that! And just like in the Song of Solomon, He brings us into His chambers,(KJV for an operatic effect):

“The king hath brought me into his chambers: we will be glad and rejoice in thee, we will remember thy love more than wine: the upright love thee.” Song of Solomon 1:4.

We not only have a good view of the King, He invites us into His chambers! All because we have made Him king and Lord in our hearts and lives! We aren’t just bystanders watching from a distance, we are brought into the King’s chambers!

But the very first words that probably come out of our mouths are the words of the maiden in Song of Solomon, “I am dark…” (NKJV, Song of Solomon 1:5). Now brought into the presence of the King, we see our ‘darkness’ from sin. We see it and sense in our heart just like Isaiah did when he was in the presence of the Lord,  “Woe is me, I am undone! …” Is. 6:5.

But on the other hand, we also have been brought into the chambers of the King because we have made Him King and Lord of our hearts and lives, so we can also respond as the maiden did,
“I am dark, but lovely,…” Song of Solomon 1:5. Because of what my King of Kings has done for us, taking our sin upon Himself on the cross, and washing  us clean with His blood. He has made us lovely!

He has made us part of His bride. Yes, we are dark, but He has made us lovely by what He has done for us!

“Let’s forget about ourselves and magnify the Lord…”

The King has brought us into His chambers and we respond just like the maiden in the Song, “Do not look upon me, because I am dark, Because the sun has tanned me; They made me the keeper of vineyards, but my own vineyard I have not kept.” Song of Solomon 1:6.

You see, we have ‘darkness’ because life has been hard for us. So much trial, so much weariness, so much fatigue, so much pressure, so much pain and hurt. And all the emotions that follow such things. We are just like the maiden, “King, don’t look at me, I’m a mess!”

Yes,  we are hungry and desire to rest. And just  as the maiden in the Song, (well, maybe not so near poetic we ask), “Tell me,  O you whom I love, Where you feed your flock, Where you make it rest at noon?” Song of Solomon 1:7.

“Tell me, O You whom I love, where is Your flock?” He is our Shepherd-King. He is Jesus the Good Shepherd (John 10:11),  yet He’s KING OF KING AND LORD OF LORDS, (Rev. 19:16),  He is the Shepherd of our souls, John 10:14,18), He is the Great Shepherd (Hebrews 13:20), and the Chief Shepherd (1Peter 5:4). “Let’s forget about ourselves, and magnify the Lord,…”

A Prayer: God, that You would empower us to make a choice to forget about ourselves, and ‘Be still and know that You are God’ even in the midst of the busyness of life. Is that possible? I believe You desire it to be that way.’Where do You feed Your flock, and where do You make it rest at noon?’

So the maiden comes to the kings table, and a sweet fragrance comes forth from her:

“While the king is at his table, My spikenard sends forth its fragrance. A bundle of myrrh is my beloved to me,…”Song of Solomon 1:12,13. And the King brings us to His Table, and the realization of all that has been done,the fact that no one wanted anything to do with our sinful ways, but You took our sin in full, and now a sweet fragrance is poured out from us.

Our eyes are on You, and it is amazing to think that You, our God, our Shepherd King, in all Your glory and splendor –  You have eyes for…

us!

You were born that You might die, that is the ‘bundle of myrrh to  me’. You had eyes for me and gave Your all. Maybe by forgetting about ourselves, we can finally hear Your words of love, magnified:

“Behold, thou art fair, my love; behold, thou art fair…” Song of Solomon 1:15.

Dear Lord, that we give You place as Shepherd King in our hearts and lives, and that we respond to Your love, and worship with this song today: ‘I am my Beloved’s and You are mine, and Your banner over me is love!”

We worship You our Lord Jesus, Amen.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

