A letter to the prodigal from God…

“Do you not remember Me?”

These are the words of the Father to His children in Isaiah 57:11. “Do you not even give Me a thought?””I have been silent, even for a long time, and so you do not fear Me?” These are not angry words from God, these are the words of a broken heart.

The prophet Isaiah would tell the children the words of the Lord.  The heart of the Father, the very nature and character of God is opposite to what man thinks in his own mind, in his earthly thoughts. But the word tells us, when He passed before Moses and proclaimed His name, He said, “The LORD, the LORD God,  merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abounding in goodness and truth, keeping mercy for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin…” (Exodus 34:6,7).

There is so much misunderstanding, there is such a wall of separation in the hearts of the sons and the daughters. And there is God’s still, small voice, to ‘whosoever’ will hear:

Do you not remember Me?” (Is. 57:11).  What about from the beginning, when Adam and Eve were given a garden that I planted and allowed  to eat the fruit from any tree in the garden, except one. The serpent of old is asking  the same question he asked them from the beginning: “Did God really say that you must not eat fruit from any tree in the garden?”(Gen. 3:1, International Children’s Version).

And yes, this brought in temptation. But ‘the only temptations that you have are the temptations that all people have. But you can trust Me. I will not tempt you more than you can stand.’ (1 Cor. 10:13).

It was all theirs, except one tree, so the choice could be made to choose to trust and obey.  But it was at this moment in time, that Eve didn’t remember My thoughts, she only believed the lie of the snake in the garden, much like the thoughts of today: ” What’s the big deal if you do ‘this’? Or, what’s the big deal if you do ‘that’? “You will not die.” Gen 3:4.

But death came.  Adam and Eve were still alive. But now they were afraid of Me and felt they had to hide from Me and then they had to blame each other for their mess. And of course, they now knew they were naked, so in their best thinking they covered their nakedness with those itchy fig leaves that left them uncomfortable, stiff. Needless to say, there was anger everywhere and no joy.

Do you not remember Me? That ‘for both of them, I made tunics of skin, and clothed them.'(Gen. 3:21). “Do you not even give Me a thought?” (Is. 57:11). How I covered you in Lamb’s skin?

The snake comes from  the father that hates you, but he is not like Me. Did you remember that there are two fathers? Well, the father of lies, he hates you and he hates Me. He is a thief, and he ‘does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy’ (John 10:10) the life that I have come to give you. He wants you, but not to give you life.

Do you not remember Me? How from the beginning of time when I created the heavens and the earth, the earth was void and darkness covered the waters. But, My ‘Spirit hovered over the face of the waters’ (Gen 1:2), and I spoke, “Let there be light, and there was light.”(Gen. 1:3). You see, I AM the Father of lights, (James 1:17). I can see it all, there is nothing hid from Me, yet ‘I have loved you with an everlasting love;’ (Jer. 31:3) and I desire to draw you with loving kindness.

“You have not remembered Me or even thought about Me. I have been quiet for a long time. Is that why you are not afraid of Me? I will tell about your ‘goodness’ and what you do. And those things will do you no good. When you cry out for help, let the false gods you have gathered help you. The wind will blow them away. Just a puff of wind will take them away. But the person who depends on Me will receive the land. He will have My holy mountain…(Isaiah 57:11-13).

“I will not accuse forever. I will not always be angry. If I continued to be angry, man’s life would grow weak. Man, whom I created, would die…but they continued to do evil.(Is. 57:17).

“I have seen what they have done, but I will heal them.”(Is. 57:18).

“I will guide them and comfort them. And those who were sad will praise Me. I will give peace, real peace, to those far and near. And I will heal them.”(Is. 57:19, International Children’s Version).

I am waiting for you. ‘I am longsuffering toward you,’ (2 Peter 3:9). My Father asked that I might lay down My life for you. His love for you was as His love for Me, and even before the foundation of the world, it was decided that I, His Son, would die for you. “For God so loved the world…”.

I will wait. And every morning I will speak loudly in My silence:

“Arise, shine; For your light has come!” (Is. 60:1). And when your heart is ready to receive Me, I will pull you from the darkness and give you a heart of peace and rest.

“Peace, peace to him who is far off and to him who is near,”…”And I will heal him.” (Is. 57:19, NKJV).I will take off the ‘old itchy fig leaves and cover you with lambskins.

I am the Lamb that was slain.  My name is Jesus. I AM the ‘High and Lofty One who inhabits eternity, whoe name is Holy; I dwell in the high and holy place, with him who has a contrite and humble spirit, to revive the spirit of the humble, and to revive the heart of the contrite ones.” (Is. 57:15).

“Therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you. Again I will build you, and you shall be rebuilt…”Jer. 31:3.

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

