From gloom to song OR ‘a mess to blessed!’

There’s a battle in my thoughts dear Lord! O Lord, there’s a battle in my heart and mind today. Voices, subtle and without hope; without the breath of You…

God help me – help me now! I take every thought captive in You. Help me take every thought and weigh it, is it false or is it true?

“God doesn’t provide.” “You’re on your own.” “There’s no end in sight!” “It’s always going to be like this!” These are not thoughts that come from You. The enemy is attacking- I cry out to you! What are Your promises? God, help me now!

In Jesus name I cry, to be ‘a present help in time of need!’ (Ps. 146:). In Jesus name I pray-for ‘the pulling down of strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God…’ (2 Cor. 10:4,5). I am as David, praying, “Answer me speedily, O LORD; my spirit fails! Do not hide your face from me, Lest I be like those who go down into the pit. Cause me to hear Your lovingkindness in the morning…” (Ps. 143:8.)

Then in the craziness I remember,  “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”(Heb. 13:5).  Yes, and,  “God will supply all our need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.” ( 4:19). And what about, “God has not given you a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” (2 Tim. 7). And there is no way that I am alone, because, “the Lord is my Shepherd,…and even though I walk in the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, because He is with me.” (Ps. 23:1). Hey, and I’m not supposed to even worry about tomorrow, because ‘sufficient for the day is its own trouble,’ (Matthew 6:34).

I am beginning to experience Your ‘present help’ Lord. I am beginning to see that ‘this is my comfort in my affliction,…’ it’s that ‘ Your word has given me life.’ (Ps. 119:50). Or at least my next breath! My thoughts are back to believing that, God, there is none like You.

On a morning where once again my thoughts were full of darkness and lies, You rescued me. You didn’t change one circumstance that is still a mess – at least not yet- but You continually change me. You are the God of hope. Yes, You are the God of hope that fills me with all joy and peace,’ (none of which I had when I first woke this morning), in believing, (Satan was lying again about You, my faith was flying out the window, but You captured it and brought me to Your word). And You did all of this by the power of Your Holy Spirit, (not through any strength of mine, that’s for sure!) that I may ‘abound in hope’!(Romans 15:13, exclamation point, mine.) Your sword is powerful Lord, the enemy is defeated!

So my gloom went  to  a song, “Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father,  there is no shadow of turning with Thee; Thou changest not, Thy compassions they fail not; As Thou hast been Thou forever wilt be….

Great is Thy faithfulness! Great is Thy Faithfulness, morning by morning new mercies I see. All I have needed Thy hand hath provided, Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord unto Thee!”

“Now may the God of hope fill you will all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13.

The truth is, even if we have nothing, Nothing + the LORD = Everything! He did it! He has made me to abound in hope again. Instead of a mess, I am blessed.

“I love You Jesus, ’cause You first loved me!”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

