The ‘Greatest’ Commission…

The Great Commission is something many of us are familiar with, it is found in the last verses, (among many other places), of Matthew:

“Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,…”(Matthew 28:19).

However, God is touching my heart as to what is the Greatest Commission as of late, and I believe He has reminded me that it is… to be ‘fully pleasing Him…’ “That you may have a walk worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing Him,…” Col. 1:10.

I was reminded yesterday in a commentary about the wonderful moment when Peter walked on water! When Peter saw Jesus walking on water and said, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.” So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus.” Matthew 14:28,29.

But I am wondering,  that this was not Peter’s greatest moment, as we might naturally think – but perhaps, Peter’s greatest moment occurs right after:  “But when he saw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!” Matthew 14:30. His greatest moment was in his sinking, he cried out, saying,”Lord, save me!”

How quickly Peter went from walking on the water to sinking! But maybe, the Lord in His sovereignty -knowing that we humans, the minute we are successful, we naturally  take pride in ourselves. But God knows that that is not safe, so the waves become boisterous and frightening, and we begin to sink- and our eyes once again get put right where they need to be, right on Jesus and our heart and mind are right where they need to be -dependant on Him:  “Lord, save me!”

Jesus expressed it best, when He told the multitudes, “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of God.” Matthew 5:3.

So what I am saying, is maybe our ideas of ‘what is fully pleasing Him’ might be more than we naturally think. Maybe, what gives Him the most glory is not so much the ‘walking on water’ moments , but the moments of  total dependence  on God for…everything. Perhaps, that is when He is then ready to send us out to our ‘Jerusalem, and our Judea, and to our outer most parts of the earth.’

We have so many wonderful examples in the Bible where God did not allow them to ‘walk on water’ forever, but allowed hardship and trouble. And we see in each story that God was glorified greatly in the weakness. Paul explained it like this: “And lest I should be exulted above measure by the abundance of revelations, a thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I be exalted above measure. Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me.  And He said to me,

“My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” (2 Cor. 12:17-9)

We must be about the great commission, and get excited about the work on the mission field. And  come along side to be a part of these ministries in praying and supporting  these men and woman who are giving their every waking moment on the field- but I believe even greater still, we must be part of the greatest commission,

a moment by moment choice to ‘be fully pleasing Him’. Nothing big, like ‘walking on the water’ but simply living life in this boisterous world with our whole dependency on Him, He alone is our Savior – and in that, Jesus stretches out His hand and in His mercy and compassion, and He says, “O you of little faith, why do you doubt?”Matthew 14:31.

So the Father might ask us,

“Are you seeking Me? Are you calling out to Me? In dependence and direction? Are you living your life knowing I am your Savior and no one else? And even if it looks like I haven’t heard and make you wait on an answer, are you trusting Me? Is your faith increasing even though your eyes cannot see?”

“Do you, my dear sons and daughters choose to give thanks in Me, even when your heart is breaking, even over and over? Do you choose  to love Me still, even though your time here on earth is hard where cold winds blow often across your back?”

“My dear child, “Grace to you and peace from Me, your Father,  and My Son,  Jesus Christ… because you have chosen, moment by moment, day by day, to have a walk looking unto Me,and trusting in My Son, the author and finisher of your faith, desiring to be growing and increasing in knowledge of Me and My word.

Yes, you might be poor is spirit, and mourn, and even feel persecuted, and hunger and thirst for righteousness – but you are blessed. You are spiritually prosperous. You have a life-joy about you. Be satisfied with My favor, you are fully pleasing Me.

Don’t let your hope be disappointed, ever, because I will pour My love out in You by the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 5:5) I have filled you with my Spirit, My grace is sufficient. Remember always, I am your Immanuel.”

A Hymn for a walk ‘fully pleasing Him’: He Leadeth Me

He Leadeth Me, O blessed thought! O words with heavenly comfort fraught!/ what e’er I do, where’er I be, Still ’tis God’s hand that leadeth me. He leadeth me, By His own hand He leadeth me; His faithful follower I would be, For by His hand He leadeth me.

Sometimes ‘mid scenes of deepest gloom, Sometimes where Eden’s bowers bloom, By waters still, o’e troubled sea, Still ’tis His hand that leadeth me!

Lord, I would clasp Thy hand in mine, Not ever murmur nor repine; Content whatever lot I see, Since ’tis my God that leadeth me.

And when my task on earth is done, When by Thy grace the vict’rys won, E’en death’s cold wave I will not flee, Since God through Jordan leadeth me…

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

