“…I shall not want.” Ps. 23.

It is because the Lord is my Shepherd that I can say “I shall not want.”

But it is the times that I am ‘wanting’ the most, that God brings me to this Psalm, time and time again. “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want.” Ps. 23:1.

OK, so I am a sheep. But am I making the choice today, to be under the Shepherd’s care? What’s crazy to me, is that, to Him, it doesn’t matter-He loves me, He loves me, He loves me. And even though I have become a ‘sheep that has gone astray, and have turned to my own way, the LORD has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.’ Is. 53:6. There is no understanding God’s love. It is farther reaching than the human mind can comprehend. He speaks, “Come.”

And often times we don’t.

He calls to us, “Hear.”

And  often times we won’t.

The Father proclaims, “The wages deserved for sin is death!”(Rom 6:23). And You, our Good Shepherd said, “I am willing.” So, “He was oppressed and He was afflicted, Yet He opened not His mouth; He was led as a lamb to the slaughter, And as a sheep before its shearers is silent, So He opened not his mouth…He was cut off from the land of the living; For the transgression of My people He was stricken…”Is. 53:7-8.

The Lord…

He is the One who demonstrated His love to us, even when we were sinners, (Romans 5:8) Christ died for us, the sheep that went astray. How?

Because HE is the Good Shepherd. And because HE is the Good Shepherd and laid down His life for me, perhaps I can just for a minute…

Be Still…and know that He LOVES ME, right now, even  now, even in my hardness. Perhaps His kindness and love are turning my head,

but not only that, are softening the hardness in my heart to receive that love.

And perhaps, I am ready to take a breath and speak these words this morning and really mean them, even though nothing in my circumstances has changed, “The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want.”

“Thank You Lord, for saving my soul/ Thank You Lord for making me whole./Thank You Lord, for giving to me, Thy great salvation, so rich and free.”

And maybe, now, I am even able to say these words aloud, “I love You Jesus, ’cause You first loved me.”

“Thank You God, for the power of Your word. Even the simplest word is so powerful to change me from the inside out. In Jesus Name, Amen.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

