“He restores my soul;” (Ps. 23:2) God doesn’t leave us in the dark…

It is amazing how, taking just a few minutes a day to read God’s word and a short devotional, how restored and refreshed and renewed I actually become. This must be why God calls the word the Living  water. It’s better than a shower after a long, ‘earth weary’ day!

C.H. Spurgeon has written words that touch my heart, today especially:

God has a motive! His thoughts are working to give you a future and a hope (Jer. 29:11).(Spurgeon, Beside Still Waters, pg. 352.), (This is the scripture that my friend Jenny wanted me to make a calligraphy of before she went into a coma.)”All things are working for good to those who love God, to those who are he called according to His purpose (Rom. 8:28). We see only the beginning; God sees the end from the beginning. We spell the alphabet-alpha, beta, gamma…But from alpha to omega, God reads all at once. He knows every letter in the Book of Providence. He sees not only what He is doing, but also the final results.   God sees your present pain and grief. He also sees the future joy and usefulness that will come from this affliction. He observes not only the plow tearing the soil, but also a golden harvest clothing the soil. He sees the consequences of affliction and knows that it will lead to much blessed happiness.”

“Beloved, now are we the children of God; and it has not yet been revealed what we shall be” (1 John 3:2). You never see the Great Artist’s masterpiece. You only see the rough marble and mark the chips that fall to the ground. You have felt the edge of His chisel; you know the weight of His hammer. If you could see the glorious image as it will be when He has put the finishing blows to it, you would better understand the chisel, the hammer, and the Artist.” (Spurgeon, Beside Still Waters.)

Then I read Psalm 30, and I feel as if God is showing me the finished masterpiece in this Psalm. He doesn’t leave us in darkness. He reveals the truth in hidden passages in His word, and when we seek for them, we find them – as if finding treasure, and that is what gives us hope. It is His word that increases our faith.

Ps. 30:1,2, “I will extol You, O LORD, for You have lifted me up, And have not let my foes rejoice over me. O LORD my God, I cried to You, and You healed me…”

Ps. 30:4,5, “Sing praise to the LORD, you saints of His, And give thanks at the remembrance of His holy name. For His anger is but for a moment, His favor is for life; Weeping may endure for a night, But joy comes in the morning…”

Ps. 30:11,12, “You have turned for me my mourning into dancing; You have put off my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness, To the end that my glory may sing praise to YOu and not be silent. O LORD my God, I will give thanks to You forever!” (Exclamation point, mine.)

“Lord, that is why we can give thanks to You, because You are good. You are good, Lord. And ‘forever’ is a long time! Praising You. We worship You Lord. In Jesus Name, Amen.”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

1 thought on ““He restores my soul;” (Ps. 23:2) God doesn’t leave us in the dark…”

Leave a Reply

