‘Manna in Minutes’ from a mama’s heart…

Only God can make a time of death be filled with hope and thankfulness even through the great sadness. This is a time to be thankful, but when I received the news that someone very special in my life has gone home to be with the Lord, (Yes, Jenny has gone home.)

I cried. And I cried hard.

And I thought of the verse in the Bible, “Jesus wept.” (John 11:35). And Jesus wept even though He KNEW He was going to raise Lazarus from the dead. Over sin and death,”Jesus wept.” He understands it all. Every pain, every hurt, every sorrow – He knows.

And how beautiful that God knows that we so badly need His love, so, “God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. ” (Romans 5:8). He didn’t wait until we got everything together! No, salvation is a gift from Him to whoever will receive it,
“”For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is a gift of God, ” (Eph. 2:8).
And  that most special person in my life had received and believed that gift of salvation through Jesus – she is alive, and more alive than she has ever been. He has turned her ‘mourning into dancing;’ and He has taken off her ‘sackcloth’ and clothed her with gladness’, (Ps. 30:11).

That is the beauty of the ‘old rugged cross’. That’s how we love it and cling to it because Jesus died -but He rose again! He said Himself, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me,

though he may die, he shall live.

“And whoever lives and believes in Me shall never die.” (John 11:25). And He even asks after that statement, “Do you believe this?” (John 11:26).

Yes, I believe this! All because Jesus was willing to wear a crown of thorns and die on that cross, my loved one is now promised LIFE, and life eternal. And not only that, But she is promised a crown, and crown of righteousness!

“Finally, there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give to me on that Day, and not to me only but also to all who have loved His appearing.” 2 Timothy 4:8.

And that is how we can say as Paul did, even through our weeping, that, I, “rejoice in the Lord, always.” (Phil 4:4) and I think I can also say, “and again, I say Rejoice!” (Phl 4:4). And we can sing with our loved one’s in heaven, who we will see again very soon, “To the end that my glory may sing praise to You and not be silent. O LORD my God, I will give thanks to You forever.” (Ps. 30: 12).

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

