The Bridegroom waits in longing for His Bride #14

Looking for Jesus – way before He arrived as the Christ Child- in these #’d studies we see Him so clearly in Genesis -the book of beginnings!  “But from there you will seek the LORD your God, and you will find Him if you seek Him with all your heart and with all your soul.” Deut. 4:29. ‘But from there…’, from all of the word! Wise men still seek Him, and what a glorious find is He.

In Gen. 24 we have the most wonderful story, but what is so amazing is this story can be our story! You see, the father of the promised son sent his servant away to find and bring  home a bride for the bridegroom:

(Abraham to his servant), “For the Lord God of heaven told me to leave that land and my people, and promised to give me an my children this land. He will send his angel on ahead of you, and he will see to it that you find a girl from there to be my son’s wife.”( Gen. 24:7, Living).

So here we see the father, (Abraham) sending his servant, (no name mentioned) away with 10 camels” loaded with the best of everything his master owned” (Gen 24:10, Living),  on a journey in search for a bride for Isaac.

So the servant arrives to his destination and prays, “O Jehovah, the God of my master, show kindness to my master Abraham and help me to accomplish the purpose of my journey…This is my request: When I ask one of them” (the girls of the village who draw water), “for a drink and she says ‘Yes, certainly, and I will water your camels too!’ – let her be the one you have appointed as Isaac’s wife. That is how I will know.”

“Hmmm,” you are thinking, “how can this be my story?”

Well, to start, Abraham is the ‘father of nations’, a ‘type of’  God, who is ‘our Father in heaven’. The servant is a ‘type’ of  the Holy Spirit sent by the Father, (Jesus tells us plainly), “But when the Helper comes, whom I shall send to you from the Father, the Spirit of truth, who proceeds from the Father, He will testify of Me.” John 15:26. You see, the servant had no name because his job was to tell the bride-to-be all about the Prince! (For Rebekah, prince Isaac, for us the Prince of Peace!)

And Isaac, he is a type of Jesus. He was home preparing a place for his coming bride that the servant was bringing to him just like Jesus who is preparing for His bride, (the church, all who believe), those whom are drawn by the Spirit of God and say, “I will go.” Jesus is preparing a place and ‘as it is written: “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, Nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him. But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit…” 1 Cor. 2:9,10.

And we will see in this story that there was a deep surrender and longing to be ‘one with him’ even before she ‘saw’ him! This is our story exactly, about our Jesus, “…whom having not seen you love. Though now you do not see Him, yet believing, you rejoice with joy inexpressible and full of glory…”  1Peter 1:8,9.

So, back to the story: (Gen. 24:15-18, Living), ‘As he was still speaking to the Lord about this, a beautiful young girl named Rebekah arrived with a water jug on her shoulder and filled it at the spring… Running over to her, the servant asked her for a drink. “Certainly, sir,” she said, and quickly lowered the jug for him to drink. Then she said, “I’ll draw water for your camels, too, until they have enough!”‘

“I’ll draw water for your camels, too, until they have enough!”  Perhaps, I should write the word, ‘Selah’ or pause and think about this, right here! Rebekah is a picture of the bride (to be!) She was on the job at the spring first. She was hospitable and willing to ‘deny herself’ and serve this traveler, PLUS his 10 camels! (Oh how we must remember this, as at times we feel like ‘slaves’… I mean, ‘willing’ servants to others!)as the Bride of Christ is reminded in God’s word,  “Be hospitable to one another without grumbling.” 1 Peter 4:9.

So Rebekah is a great example to us when she answers the servant in regards to accommodations, “Yes, we have plenty of straw and food for the camels, and a guest room.” Gen. 24:25. And we see the servant welcome in their home…just as the Holy Spirit reminds us about the words of our Lord, “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.” Rev. 3:20.

So the proposal is presented to the father and the older brother, as the story is told entirely, (Gen. 24:34-51!) But ultimately, ‘will you, or won’t you let the young maiden come back home with me to meet the Bridegroom.’ I love the answer of the family, whether they believed or not: “The Lord has obviously brought you here, so what can we say? Take her and go! Yes, let her be the wife of your master’s son, as Jehovah has directed.” Gen.24:50.

I love what comes next: The servant first worships the Lord. Then we read in  Gen.24:53, “Then he brought out jewels set in solid gold and silver for Rebekah, and lovely clothing;…”

You might be thinking,”I believe in  Jesus. I have opened up the door of my heart to receive and believe, yet I don’t see the gifts!” Ask the Lord to open your spiritual eyes that now:“…you must know (recognize) that you”(and I,) ” were redeemed (ransomed)…not with corruptible things [such as] silver and gold, but [you were purchased] with the precious blood of Christ, the Messiah, like that of a [sacrificial] lamb without blemish or spot.” (1 Peter 1:18,19 Amplified).

And just as Rebekah was given new clothing, we are as well:  “She has been permitted to dress in fine (radiant) linen – dazzling and white, for the fine linen is (signifies, represents) the righteousness…of the saints.” (Rev. 19:8, Amplified). (And we have learned that believing God and receiving His gift of Salvation in Jesus IS our righteousness – nothing more! We have learned this from Abraham, “Abraham believed God, and it was accounted to him for righteousness.” (Romans 4:3).

There seems to be a struggle that arises in the story, and in our own story as well. The servant said, “Send me back to my master!” (Gen. 24:54), but the family wanted some time and desired to delay the departure.

“But the servant pleaded, “Don’t hinder my return; the Lord has made my mission successful, and I want to report back to my master.”(Gen. 24:56). “So they called Rebekah, “Are you willing to go with this man?” they asked her. and she replied, “Yes, I will go.” Gen. 24. 58.

The Lord longs for us, even more than we long for Him. Jesus longs for His Bride. It is His desire to ‘be’ with us.  In His final prayer recorded before the Passion, Jesus prays, “Father I desire that they also whom You gave Me may be with Me where I am, that they may behold My glory which You have given Me;…” (John 17:24). May we not linger and wait to meet (continuously) with our Bridegroom.

Then, in the story comes, the long awaited moment:(Gen. 24:62-67 , Living), “Meanwhile Isaac,…One evening as he was taking a walk out in the fields, meditating, he looked up and saw the camels coming. Rebekah noticed him and quickly dismounted. “Who is that man walking through the fields to meet us?” she asked the servant. And he replied, “It is my master’s son!”  So she covered her face with her veil. Then the servant told Isaac the whole story.

And Isaac brought Rebekah into his mother’s tent, and she became his wife. He loved her very much…”

Jesus loves His Bride. How we need to be reminded and remember and meditate and take hold of all that is true and look forward to seeing our Jesus face to face, and as we wait, may we sing of our Bridegroom: “He brought me to the banqueting house, and His banner over me was love, (Song of Sol 2:4),…My beloved is mine, and I am His (Song. of Sol. 2:16),  and always keep close to our heart, His words to His Bride, “Behold, you are fair, my love! Behold you are fair! You have dove’s eyes behind your veil.”

Yes, this is our story, and this is our song: “Let us be glad and rejoice and give Him glory, for the marriage of the Lamb has come, and His wife has made herself ready.” Rev. 19:7.

If, by chance you have not felt ‘chosen’, think again: “Sing to the LORD a new song…”(Is. 42:10). “Thus says God the LORD, who created the heavens and stretched them out, who spread for the earth and that which comes from it… I the LORD, have called You in righteousness, and will hold your hand; I will keep you…” (Is. 42:5,6). The camels in this story remind us of how far the servant traveled – The Spirit travels far at times to reach His chosen. When He comes, I pray you respond,… “Yes, I will go!”

 

“Yes, I will go!”

Author: tonirypkema

Wife to 1, mother of 11, daughter of 1. "The most amazing woman in the world." -Jared (son)

Leave a Reply

